Richard Johnston Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas sur place4,6

Notation basée sur
88 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great Fredericksburg Stay!!

5 sur juillet 10, 2017

Fantastic location and staff! Made us feel so at home. Great food and other amenities as well. We will be back and would strongly recommend this establishment for anyone visiting Fredericksburg and the local area. Free Parking!!


Anniversary Stay 6-28-17

4,8 sur juillet 01, 2017

We stayed in the very nice Loft room #1. We were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the Inn is. It's very clean and has a historical charm. The location couldn't be any better. Walk out the front door and there are restaurants, shops, history, visitors center. The breakfast was delicious! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and will return.


Nice place to stay

4,4 sur juin 20, 2017

We stayed for 3 nights- lovely inn. The Innkeeper was gone for the weekend but the staff was amazing. They couldn't do enough for us! We only ate breakfast one morning as we had to be out early on two days. The staff offered to fix our breakfast early (like 6:00am) but we passed so they made sure to leave out something for us to grab. The morning we had breakfast it was amazing! We stayed in the Kitchen House and my only issue was the carpet needed to be cleaned or replaced- it was dirty (or stained). We even had one of the staff come look at the carpet so we wouldn't be charged (originally we were going to keep our dog with us but she ended up staying with my daughter) Wifi was not great- kept getting bumped off. Just a few minor issues and would definitely stay there again.


This is one of the best B&B's in the world - REALLY!

5 sur juin 17, 2017

So far I have enjoyed five stays at this wonderful, historic inn. The Kitchen Room is the oldest, but all the rooms are great. Cheryl and the staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, and the breakfasts are excellent. The location is in the heart of this Colonial town, with all the sites within easy walking distance. Also, lots and lots of great restaurants, shops, bookstores, etc. within a few minutes walk. The ample parking in the back is super-convenient for getting in and out of town, and makes it easy to get to your room with luggage. The staff is ready to meet you, and help you settle in. All in all, if you plan an visiting Fredericksburg (and you should), this is the place to stay.


Historical Inn Perfect Setting for Visit to Historical Fredericksburg

3,2 sur mai 17, 2017

We have stayed at this Inn a few times during our son's college years at UMW. It is very convenient to the school and all historical sites. Easy to park, walk to restaurants and bars. We love the history of the Inn. The Innkeeper, Cheryl is wonderful; she does whatever is necessary to make your stay pleasant. It truly feels like you are in a home, totally comfortable to stay in the living room, reading or talking with other guests. My only comment is that the Inn could use a bit of "un-decorating" - too many plastic flowers everywhere, and knick knacks. It almost felt like one of the "antique" shops on the main street. It would feel a bit nicer if it was de-cluttered. Having said that, we want to visit Fredericksburg again to take the time to see all the history in the area and will stay at the Inn.


Highly Recommend

4,6 sur mai 11, 2017

We stayed in "The Loft". The room was beautiful and clean. The staff was friendly and helped us pick a spot for dinner. We would stay here again.


Wonderful weekend escape

3,6 sur mai 01, 2017

On the main street in historic Fredericksburg, the inn offered the opportunity to explore on foot easily and enjoy the character of the city. Breakfast and afternoon tea were delicious. Look forward to returning.


Richard Johnston Inn was OUTSTANDING!

5 sur mai 01, 2017

This delightful in right on Caroline Street is the place to stay if you want to be in the midst of restaurants, shops, breweries and history. We spent 2 nights in the lovely Kitchen Room with our pets. Yes! It's pet friendly! Our 2 dogs were very welcome.The Kitchen room was very beautiful with all the amenities you could ask for. The brandy was a nice touch. The beds are very comfortable. We didn't get to see any of the other rooms except online but I am certain they are just as wonderful. All the ladies that make this Inn run are some of the nicest I have encountered when away. Very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and a great way to start the day. Our daughter lives in Fredericksburg so we will be back again!!! If you want to be right in the action stay at this fantastic B&B!!


Wonderful place

4,6 sur mai 01, 2017

What a lovely place. Stayed in the kitchen room for the 2nd time. Love it as much as the first time. Breakfast was good and the staff was wonderful - so friendly and nice.


A wonderful stay at a lovely property

5 sur avril 30, 2017

We spent two nights at the Richard Johnston Inn, and I felt that we received execellent value for money. The room was very nice, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was quite imaginative and tasty. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Fredericksburg.


Outstanding service and a beautiful place to stay

4,8 sur avril 19, 2017

We have lived in the region for 10 years but had never stayed downtown. Decided it was finally time to do so. We will definitely be back! Beautiful place and the service was amazing. Look forward to staying again soon.


Loved the B&B

4,8 sur avril 10, 2017

Great historic atmosphere. Rooms very well kept and nice. Food was awesome. Appears to have plenty of staff available to keep things going. Walking distance from lots of shops and restaurants. One drawback concerned the rooms facing the main street. Bars shut down around 1230 pm on weekend and it got a little loud for about an hour.


1890 "Sweet" Caroline House!

4,8 sur avril 08, 2017

My wife and I stayed at the sister property of the Richard Johnston Inn and couldn't have had a better stay! Both properties are run by Cheryl who, with her staff of Cindy, Breanne and Shannon were all tremendous hosts who made us feel like we were staying in their house! Food, accommodations, we were in the William Riley Suite which was fantastic, service and ambiance were all outstanding. Great historic downtown location was close walking distance to everything. Highly recommend either or both properties! Larry and Carole


Lovely stay right in the heart of it all

4,8 sur avril 04, 2017

Stayed here to celebrate my wife's birthday. Had a lovely time strolling through town antique shopping. The Inn was a great resource for places to see and eat. They were also quite accommodating on Sunday before we departed, allowing us to spend some time revisiting some shops. Breakfast was quite delicious. On par with even the best of restaurants. Thanks!


Loved the stay

4,6 sur mars 30, 2017

Great atmosphere and service. Very nice Breakfast. If you have a room facing Caroline St. on a wkend, be ready for the 1230 am pub crawl. A little rowdy and loud for about an hour.


Wonderful B&B in downtown Fredericksburg

5 sur mars 06, 2017

My wife and I stayed at this B&B the weekend following Valentine's Day as a mini-getaway. The room, though historic was very comfortable. The inn-keeper had provided chocolates from a chocolatier in town and a split of champagne in honor of the occasion. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious with dormer windows looking over Caroline Street. During the afternoon of both evenings we were there, the innkeeper had a wine and cheese tasting event with excellent cheeses and spreads. Both breakfasts were superb. The inn, having been built in the 18th century in an historic town is a significant part of that history. From the street, one can see marks in the brick of the building's exterior from minie balls fired during the Civil War battle. The town has great opportunities for shopping and dining. It is a college town so Caroline Street can get a little loud on some evenings. The Inn is a nice, clean, friendly place and will not disappoint.


Pleasantly surprised

4,6 sur mars 03, 2017

Our stay was delightful! The husband was skeptical about staying at a B&B but after our stay, he was already planning to return! Thank you for offering such a lovely, clean, elegant place for us to stay.


Very nice, friendly place to stay in town

5 sur février 26, 2017

My wife and I spent the weekend after Valentine's Day here. We stayed in the Freju Room. It was very nice. The building is from the 18th century and remarkably well maintained. (You can even see bullet holes in the brick from the Battle of Fredericksburg). The staff was very friendly. Every afternoon from 3:30-5, they put out a wine and cheese spread. Breakfast is always awesome. The only downside, which is not the fault of the Inn, is that the J. Bryant Tap House closes around 1:00am and a huge mob of loud, obnoxious, and unruly drunks all pour out onto the street right across from the Inn. If you have a room overlooking Caroline Street, you will not remain asleep while this happens. If you can, I recommend getting a room that overlooks the courtyard during temporate weekends.


A Great Place to Stay!

5 sur février 22, 2017

A group of us (4) came to the Richard Johnston Inn to celebrate my sister's birthday. It was a wonderful experience! The staff was personable, courteous and very attentive! We will definitely be coming back here to stay!


Great place

4,8 sur février 16, 2017

Great location !!


A quaint stay in a quaint town

3,4 sur janvier 26, 2017

We had a great stay at the Richard Johnston Inn. The staff was very friendly and our room was beautiful and super clean. The breakfast was fine but nothing exciting or out of the ordinary. I would definitely stay again.


Wonderful Experience!

5 sur janvier 20, 2017

My companion and I are both Civil War buffs who love to travel and stay in historic Bed & Breakfasts'. We also prefer separate beds and we travel with our little dog, so it is difficult to find a B&B that can accommodate these two needs.Our stay in the Kitchen House Suite was unforgettable. Caroline Street is at the heart of historic Fredericksburg, and we were in walking distance of many Colonial and Civil War attractions. The Richard Johnston Inn is a class act!


We will be back!

5 sur janvier 17, 2017

Clean, comfortable, friendly service. Breakfast was outstanding! Great location near shops and river and convenient parking. Would like to come back in warmer weather so we can enjoy the courtyard. This is our go-to spot for visiting friends in Fredericksburg.


Friendly and helpful

5 sur janvier 17, 2017

We came in a bit late but were personally greeted. Offered wine and cheese on arrival, and shown the common areas. Our room was beautiful and cozy. The breakfast was absolutely delicious!


Richard Johnston Inn Stay December 2016

4,6 sur janvier 11, 2017

Wonderful visit! All of the staff were very accommodating over the Christmas holiday. All was clean, quiet and restful. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was bountiful and delicious!


A Great Destination For Serious Down time

5 sur janvier 01, 2017

I have stayed in B&B's in Austrailia/New Zealand/Norway/etc; and this ranks in the top 4. Cheryl Conarty is a great Innkeeper/Cook; even if she is from Long Island NY(LOL). The Xmas decorations were great; food great; support staff great. And; since Tony Bennett recently stayed there; that is a great recommendation. Recommend one of the Courtyard Suites; as very private and quiet.. Great location on historic Caroline Street; for walking to restaurants; downtown points of interests.


Frejus stay Dec 24-26 2016

4,6 sur décembre 31, 2016

We had a wonderful stay and was allowed an upgrade to this room with an in-room bath. Comfortable bed and lovely stay.


Great Downtown Stay!

4,0 sur décembre 20, 2016

Wonderful Christmas stay. Beautifully decorated house and outstanding breakfasts!


Wonderful stay over the Thanksgiving holiday!

5 sur décembre 11, 2016

Thanks to Cheryl and her team for making our stay over the Thanksgiving holiday very comfortable. We loved our cozy room, our delicious breakfast, restaurant suggestions and enjoyable conversation about the Richard Johnson Inn and the town of Fredericksburg. If we are every in the area we would definitely return for another stay. Cortlee and John


Anniversary Getaway

5 sur décembre 03, 2016

It was our 23 anniversary. The staff was outstanding. Champagne was provided on our arrival, the staff assisted us with dinner reservations. The Inn is warm, cozy, and a wonderful getaway. Staff was outstanding, and the breakfast was awesome!! We will return. Thanks!!


Enjoyable weekend escape

5 sur novembre 29, 2016

This was a weekend escaoe for me and my wife. We stayed in "The Loft" and had a great time. We felt very welcome and enjoyed the friendly staff and luxury of our relaxing suite..... We will be back....


Weekend to Remember

4,6 sur novembre 20, 2016

This was a weekend retreat for my wife and myself. We live locally and it was great to be able to have a relaxing weekend where we could walk around historic downtown Fredericksburg and enjoy the dining, drinks, shops and general atmosphere. The staff was extremely helpful and The Richard Johnston Inn was amazing!!!! We stayed in "The Loft" and we will definitely be back. The room was excellent for relaxing and then being able to retreat to the sleeping area. We can't say enough good things about our experience with the Inn, the staff, the location and the company we were able to spend with one another in such a relaxed environment. We were also able to view the rooms and the 1890 Caroline House and we will be staying there in the future also.... Thank you for such a memorable experience!!!! See you again soon....


Marine Birthday Get Away

5 sur novembre 15, 2016

This was not our first visit to the inn and it will not be our last. A beautiful and comfortable inn well located in downtown Fredericksburg. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and there are plenty of places in the inn to lounge around the house if that's what you want to do. Breakfast was exceptional and a nice departure from standard restaurant fare.


Wonderful Anniversary Getaway

5 sur novembre 15, 2016

We had the pleasure of staying in the Sawyer Scott room for 1 night to celebrate our anniversary. It was a beautiful room and we loved every minute that we go to be at the Inn. We were very close to local restaurants and shops. It was super convenient. The Innkeeper is excellent and very helpful with all of questions. The property is well cared for and very clean. Our only complaint is that we could not stay longer. Thank you to everyone that made our last minute getaway excellent.


Outstanding!

5 sur novembre 02, 2016

Our suite off of the courtyard was perfect. I only wished we could have stayed longer. I will definitely be back.


Loved this B&B

4,6 sur novembre 01, 2016

This was my first time staying at a B&B. Loved this place. Our room was very clean and the brandy was a nice touch. The staff was overly friendly and very knowledgeable about Fredericksburg history. Would absolutely stay there again.


Unique experience

4,4 sur octobre 31, 2016

I'm from out west where 246 year old buildings of any kind, much less overnight accommodations are rare. It was a real treat for me to enjoy the history and decor of the inn. I loved the historical wall art, the authentic feeling together with all the modern amenities.


charming & clean

4,8 sur octobre 30, 2016

Loved our stay again. Love all the little extras. Stayed in the charming isabellas suite near the courtyard. Enjoy my morning coffee near the fountain. Cheryl is fabulous


Wonderful Fall Weekend Getaway.

5 sur octobre 29, 2016

Fall Break getaway from DC. Easy trip on train or bus. Lovely Inn. Perfect location in historic area. Can walk to historic sites, shops, restaurants. Delicious gourmet breakfast. Enjoyed my stay very much. Will make it annual trip. Will recommend the Inn to friends and family.


I can't wait to go back again!!

5 sur octobre 24, 2016

Staff very friendly and helpful to find your way around or plan your own excursions. The food was wonderful, our room perfect, the sitting areas peaceful. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay during their visit in the area.


Charming B & B with much too offer!

4,8 sur octobre 18, 2016

This was our second stay and we had such a great time. Breakfast is always good and their evening cookies were yummy. Conventiently located. The courtyard is relaxing esp by the fountain. Cheryl is a wonderful Innkeeper. The highlight of our stay was sitting in one of the main rooms on a sunday evening talking to Cheryl is some of the other guests for several hours. It was so nice!


Phenomenal

4,6 sur octobre 13, 2016

Beautiful! The hospitality was above and beyond. Thank you to all for making our visit a very fond memory. Hope the flooding resolves and I look forward to the prospect of visiting again. God Bless!


Awesome B & B

5 sur septembre 25, 2016

We have been staying in this B&B for years. They always go above and beyond our expectations. Highly recommend staying if you are going thru the Fredericksburg area. There will be no disappointment, just charming rooms,good food and amazing hospitality!


Lovely stay in Historic Fredericksburg!

5 sur septembre 22, 2016

I absolutely loved my stay at the Richard Johnston Inn. The space was clean, beautiful, welcoming, and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and so helpful. I felt right at home!


Just simply one of the BEST!

5 sur septembre 19, 2016

Comfy, relaxed and attentive to your needs


Lovely Inn, great welcome

4,0 sur septembre 12, 2016

This is a small located in right in old town Frederickburg. The owner was personable as were the other staff members. I did not care for the French toast breakfast but the other three in our party enjoyed it. They graciously offered to make me something else which was very thoughtful. Would definitely stay here on our next weekend get away.


Wonderful Getaway

5 sur septembre 09, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Richard Johnston (Caroline House). The house is absolutely stunning. The check-in was very easy and the service was fabulous. Looking forward to staying again in the future. Definitely worth adding to your list!!!!


Wonderful stay

5 sur septembre 06, 2016

Our third time here. Gets better every time. Cheryl is fantastic and extremely helpful. Definitely recommend


Great Stay

4,8 sur septembre 01, 2016

Great one night celebration of 25th wedding anniversary. Super accommodations and wonderful breakfast cooked by Cynthia. Excellent location in heart of Fredericksburg's downtown restaurant and historical district. Recommend highly


Beautiful Place and Beautiful People

5 sur août 29, 2016

Such a beautiful inn and such warm and welcoming folks. Thanks for making us feel at home. The rooms are extremely clean and the breakfast was delicious. As we had to leave before breakfast started, the inn keeper made us a quick egg and yogurt fruit breakfast. So kind and so yummy. Will see you again soon.


Wonderful service at historic gem

5 sur août 21, 2016

We loved our stay at this cozy historic inn. Innkeeper Cheryl and other staff members gave us great tips for enjoying Fredericksburg, and the location right downtown made everything easy. Walk to historic sights and fun restaurants as well as excursions on the Rappahanock River. Breakfast was deliciousness and the dining room lovely. Highly recommended!


A winner

3,6 sur août 18, 2016

The location is great, everything in the room was satisfactory, and everyone I interacted there was super nice, knowledgeable and helpful. I didn't have breakfast on site as I preferred to explore the town, but I did very much enjoy the complimentary wine and cheese. Unlike so many of those, both the wines and the cheeses were high quality. I would recommend this place without hesitation.


Wonderful place!!!

5 sur août 12, 2016

Loved our room - celiling beams, huge fireplace, sitting area, comfortable beds. Everything in the room was just so lovely. And the innkeeper and staff too were just wonderful. We could not have asked for a nicer stay. Highly recommend this B&B!!


Exceeded our expectations

5 sur août 05, 2016

We really liked the historical value and location of the inn. We stayed in July. Relaxing atmosphere and a wonderful innkeeper Cheryl. She was very accommodating and professional. We stayed for three nights and could not have been happier. The breakfasts each morning were delicious! There is so much history in and around the city, the inn made for a great starting point. Our stay really exceed our expectations! My wife and I thank The Richard Johnston Inn for the amazing staff and value!


July stay

4,6 sur août 02, 2016

A beautiful B&B, with warm and welcoming staff.


Absolutely wonderful

5 sur juillet 30, 2016

We had a wonderful stay. Absolutely loved our room. So quaint and beautifully decorated. Loved the beams on the ceiling and the wonderful big fireplace. The innkeeper and staff were just wonderful. Friendly and engaging - made us feel so welcome. Breakfast was wonderful and my friend's dietary needs were accommodated. I just can't say enough nice about our stay. Will be back again - can't wait.


Short but sweet

4,0 sur juillet 20, 2016

We spent only one night at the inn but we enjoyed it very much. The building, the antiques, the beautiful patio, and the breakfast, all make it the perfect pefect place to stay in that great little town. Very recommended.


Sawyer Scott Room, 1890 Caroline House, July 2016

4,0 sur juillet 17, 2016

Lovely 2-night stay in this very beautiful and historic house. Excellent location.


A Trip Down Memory Lane

4,8 sur juillet 15, 2016

We spent two nights with my in-laws as my mother in law frequented Fredericksburg, VA as a child. She is now 86 and was able to take us back to her childhood memories. The Inn was lovely, chocked full of history. The staff were extremely accommodating as mobility was an issue. FYI, if you are not up for stairs, steer clear off the third floor as it is 52 steps from ground to the the room. However, the former slaves quarters are beautifully appointed suites on the ground floor and offerings to deliver breakfast in the morning was a wonderful touch. Our only issues were the television reception in the lower level suite as the bedroom was in/out with reception. The Innkeeper was more than accommodating offering us a return visit for our inconvenience. The breakfast was delicious even asking if we had dietary restrictions. A lovely, thoughtful, "feel at home" step back in time. We would highly recommend your inn to friends and family.


Very Quaint B&B

5 sur juillet 04, 2016

My sister and I felt right at home at the Richard Johnston Inn. We stayed in the Kitchen Room right off the patio. It is conveniently located to the Vistor's Center and to restaurants on Caroline Street. The house was beautifully decorated. Cheryl and Cynthia were more than gracious and accommodating. They made our vacation one to remember. We will definitely return! Highly recommended.


A perfect weekend

5 sur juin 20, 2016

We were so comfortable and relaxed at 1890 Caroline House. The house was beautifully decorated and Cheryl and Cynthia made us fee right at home. Everything was perfect. I couldn't ask for more.


A very wonderful stay

5 sur juin 16, 2016

The room was beautiful, the breakfast was outstanding and the people there were very friendly and pleasant. I highly recommend this place.


A quick anniversary getaway

4,6 sur juin 11, 2016

A quick anniversary getaway I wanted to do something special for my wife for our first anniversary and the Richard Johnston Inn more then fulfilled my wishes. The Manager is exceptionally attentive and caring and goes above and beyond to make sure everything is just right. The common areas are beautifully decorated and arranged and if you're coming here to absorb history it get you in the mood right away. I cannot more highly recommend a place to stay in Fredericksburg then the Richard Johnston Inn. Nick from Williamsburg


Perfect!

5 sur mai 30, 2016

We celebrated our Anniversary here and it was perfect! The inn is beautiful and located right downtown within walking distance to quaint little shops and restaurants. The staff was so sweet and breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend this inn for your Fredericksburg visit!


Perfect

5 sur avril 10, 2016

In addition to the perfect location, beautiful room, and wonderful breakfast, as a woman traveling alone, I felt absolutely welcome and safe in this lovely inn.


Great Stay!

4,4 sur avril 02, 2016

Convenient location near shops, restaurants, and the train station, the Inn has lovely rooms, a friendly and helpful staff, good amenities, a pretty patio, and plenty of off-street parking. They serve a tasty breakfast.


A Lovely Weekend!

5 sur mars 16, 2016

I recently stayed at the Richard Johnston Inn. My only regret, is that I could not stay longer than one night. The room that we stayed in (The Virginian) was well-kept, inviting, and cozy. The staff was incredible, welcoming us as family and helping us feel at home during our stay. In the morning, a wonderful spread of food had been prepared and we enjoyed the company of another couple staying at the Inn. Despite never staying at a bed and breakfast before, I think my husband and I will never step foot in another conventional hotel again! A huge thank you to the staff at the Richard Johnston for giving us a wonderful weekend experience.


Anniversary Celebration

5 sur décembre 31, 2015

The Richard Johnson Inn has been our favorite B&B for years. The location in Old Town Fredericksburg, couldn’t be better. The beautiful courtyard in the back is private yet spacious and open, and all the rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed with upscale country charm. The home is rich with colonial style architecture, woodwork and furnishings. The breakfast meals were customized to our preferences and excellently prepared. But most of all, the best thing was the very, friendly warmth of the entire staff. They were very accommodating and professional in caring for their guests. Innkeeper Cheryl set the standard high for the rest of the staff in the way she went “above and beyond” seeing to not only the needs but also the desires of the guests in a very professional, yet personable, warm, laid back sort of way. We felt relaxed and at home almost immediately. We will definitely be going back for our next vacation. Smokey & Linda Winstead Manassas VA


Richard Johnston Inn

5 sur mars 20, 2014

The Inn is very conveniently located in downtown Fredericksburg. The inn personnel were very helpful and friendly. It appears that there has been a change of on-site management as some of the amenities normally expected at this inn on check-in were not available. No one was able to show us to our room, there was no explanation of if, or where, coffee, sodas, etc. were available after hours, no explanation of any of the common rooms, etc.. There was a problem with the temperature control in the inn during our stay (rooms on one side of the facility were too cold while ours was too warm). There was no local, in room temperature control (the thermostat was locked) so it became quite uncomfortable overnight. This was tolerated well, however and I would still stay here again (perhaps in a different room location). A delicious breakfast was served in the dining room in the morning and again, the staff was great, service was superb and the interaction with the other guests was terrific.


Look no further!

4,2 sur mai 11, 2013

My wife wanted to go to Fredericksburg for our 37th anniversary. I found the Richard Johnston Inn and the Caroline House (where we stayed) online. They are both centrally located in Old Town Fredericksburg with easy parking---we parked right in front of the Caroline House both nights. They are operated by the same people. Our room was great--roomy, clean, and lots of automation. Only complaint was the street noise from Caroline Street at night...sounded like our windows were open and could hear conversations of people walking down the street, plus every car that passed. This is the ONLY thing I can think of that wasn't superb. The breakfast at the Richard Johnston Inn was fabulous. Lindi was very friendly and warmly welcomed us each day. We enjoyed talking with the other guests each morning at breakfast. I'm a cheapskate, so I always wince when I get the bill (high or low), but my wife was VERY PLEASED, and in the end, that's all that matters. When we return to Fredericksburg in the future, there's a very high probablility that we'll stay at one of these places. I cannot recommend and endorse it highly enough.


Wonderful Last Minute Stay

4,8 sur août 15, 2012

This was a last minute 8/13/12 by chance stay at a lovely pet friendly B&B. We were very happy with our spotless large comfortable room and yummy breakfast in the morning. Wish we had more time to stay. A definite place I would stay again.........Staff and inn keeper were very friendly and welcoming to us and our pet. Great location for walking and checking out all the local history and shops.


1890 Caroline House, like getting the remarkable experience of staying in a fabulous Victorian dollhouse!

4,4 sur avril 27, 2012

What a great Victorian home! This house is so incredibly detailed in decor! Absolutely stunning! No attention to detail has been missed, from the original hardwood floors, persian rugs, lead glass chandeliers, fantastic Victorian furniture, mirrors, all the way down to the detailed hardware on the doors and fixtures. We stayed in the Wiley Suite, not "Victorian", more masculine, with a tropical flair, zebra prints here and there, but not overdone. Extremely comfortable, with double-sided fireplace, one opening into the large sitting room, comfy chairs, with tv's back to back over double sided fireplace, other side opening into the king size bed bedroom. Comfy bed, supersoft blanket and comforter, fabulous double bathroom with 2 separate his/hers vanities and jacuzzi in 1 room, 2nd room commode,bidet, large tiled glass shower with great showerheads. blue ray DVD player, CD's that are able to be stereo systemed throughout the suite and into the courtyard. Private entrance from this suite to the courtyard and private exit to side street. House is located on Caroline street, so can step right out into Old Town Fredericksburg, everything within easy and wonderfully "old time" walking distance.Check out SimplyFredericksburg.com for all the sites, history, and shopping!


Lovely Surprise

5 sur mars 06, 2011

My husband and I came down for a friend's wedding in another B&B. Fortunately the Richard Johnson Inn had space on very short notice. Lindsay, the inn keeper, could not have been sweeter. She gave us a tour of the property and we chose the third floor room. It was beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable. I was so grateful for the non-stop excellent coffee the next morning. The breakfast was enormous and delicious. My husband was well fed and happy. This inn has lots of parking in the rear which is another plus. I'm running out of superlatives to describe this property -- We will remember our stay for a long, long time.


Great lodging in historic place

4,4 sur novembre 19, 2010

The inn is beautiful and comfortable. Located in the middle of history it is a great place to visit the surrounding battlefield sites. You live in history while visiting history.


Inn Keeper to the rescue

3,0 sur mai 08, 2010

The Richard Johnston Inn is a lovely historic building very conveniently located for sightseeing in Historic Fredericksburg. It is right across from the visitors center and close to shops and restaurants and a mere three block walk from the railway station. The Inn Keeper, Bonnie Lelys and her staff were both friendly and helpful. Bonnie went above and beyond when we discovered our train home was hours late. She invited us to sit in the parlor where we finally decided to rent a car and drive home. When the rental company was too busy to pick us up immediately, Bonnie drove us to their site. We really appreciated her extra effort.


Sigh

3,0 sur août 19, 2009

What an attractive location with beautiful appointments in the heart of Fredericksburg. While the rooms were great, the reception and dining fell well short of expectations. The Innkeeper is an Inn Sitter who is reputed to be a great cook, but breakfast consisted of a continental offering. When asked about local battlefields, the hostess explained that didn't interest her so she couldn't help. Not on our return list.

Réponse du propriétaire
I am dissappointed that this guest did not enjoy their visit. My license plate does say Innsitter and that was my previous business - I am now an Innkeeper. It is on our website that we serve an extended continental breakfast during the week but for an extra charge they may order a full breakfast. I try to direct guests to historic locations and the Visitors Center is across the street. Individual interests vary - again I am sorry they did not enjoy their visit

- Bonnie L. De Lelys (innkeeper)


Very Nice B&B

4,2 sur juin 20, 2009

The Johnston Inn is very nice and is a very good value. The location is excellent with many dining and shopping opportunities in walking distance. For example, the Capital Ale House, a very good resaurant, is a very short walk. The breakfast was delicious and very generous in a great setting. I would enthusiatically recommend this B&B.


SATISFIED AND HAPPY VACATIONERS

5 sur avril 12, 2009

We were on the last part of our two week retirement vacation. We stopped in Fredricksburg because we had visited the town a few years before, and had loved the quaint shops and the atmosphere of the area. We were told of the Richard Johnston Inn at the Welcome Center along with other Inns and hotels. We had picked this Inn because it was in the center of town, and had parking for our car. Little did we realize that we were to also enjoy the comforts and warmth of such a beautiful old and well maintained Inn. Our room was on the third flood. It was large with a king-sized bed and a mural painted on the wall showing Fredricksburg the way it looked during the years before the Civil War. There were old beamed ceiling through out the room even into the bath room. Our breakfast's were not large, but were enough to fill you up. There was lots of coffee (hot water for tea) and different juices. Our host Bonnie is an excellent cook and each morning we had a tasty treat of a coffee cake that was so very good, some went back for more than one serving...We are looking forward to another visit in the very near future!


Not a bed and breakfast in the traditional sense.

3,2 sur avril 06, 2009

While the ratings may seem low, all 3's, we have high expectations for our stays and the Richard Johston certainly met them. We very much enojyed the frunishings, and it was very clean. Our breakfast as blueberry French toast was excellent. Our bed, a queen was not very comfortable, and we both awoke with some back discomfort. The owner of the property is not on the premises, and in fact, the innkeeper once referred to the 'corporation' which is fine, but one aspect of the B&B that we have always thoroughly enjoyed is meeting the owners who live in the home. We learn of their investment in the home and the love they have for all within. Richard Johnston Inn is a very good B&B, but as a small inn of 8 rooms or so, it does not have the intimacy of a home.


Yahoo

4,0 sur mars 13, 2009

Even though we had no prior resevations we were treated convivially and fairly; a big plus in todays fast paced society. We hope to return again and again...mbsaunders


january 2009 stay

5 sur janvier 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Olivia room. It had a canopy bed, lots of towels and even soft robes. The surprise was the brandy in the room. We do not usually drink alcohol, but we had to try a sip. It warmed me up clear to my toes. The food is to die for. Ask for the recepies! The furniture is "period", the place was immaculate and the food was fantastic. What more could one ask for?


Warm & Elegant

5 sur janvier 19, 2009

The Richard Johnston Inn surrounds you in an atmosphere that is warm and elegant. Today melts away as soon as you enter the front door and is replaced by the splendor of the 18th century. High ceilings, richly decorated common rooms, and a very elegant dining room are treats for the eyes. All of the guest rooms are finely appointed; all are theme decorated; none disappoint. We were treated to the most delicious, relaxing breaksfasts. The manager, Bonnie, could not be a more gracious host - warm, helpful, and very knowledgeable about the history of both the house & the area. Plan a trip to Fredericksburg, book the Richard Johnston Inn, stay a few days extra! The area is rich with history that goes back to the 1600s. Take the trolley tour. Kudos!


5+ Stars All The Way!!!

4,0 sur janvier 19, 2009

Patricia Eldridge & Leslie Miller


A home away from home

4,4 sur novembre 03, 2008

A brilliant place to stay. Lovely comfy rooms with massive beds and TV as well as private bathrooms. Breakfast was great and the owners are wonderful people that make you feel very welcome. I definitely recommend this place (you should come here even if you are not interested in seeing the battlefield or any of the historic sites nearby) :)


Charming

5 sur août 11, 2008

Our stay at this Inn was short, but oh so sweet. Located right in the middle of the historic district - it was within walking distance to everything. The Irish Pub next door is wonderful too! The Inn is decorated to perfection and the breakfast was outstanding. We look forward to visiting again! Chip & Kris Chula, GA


An enjoyable experience

5 sur février 17, 2008

My stay this week at the Richard Johnston inn exceeded my expectations. The inn is beautifully decorated with revolutionary and civil war antiques, so has a wonderful patriotic feeling in the heart of old Fredericksburg. The breakfast was wonderful and very clean--A+. The service was outstanding; Bonnie went beyond my expectations by aiding me in my trip back to Washington, calling VRE to determine delays and driving me to the train station! A+


Best Location Ever!!!

5 sur avril 16, 2007

This Inn is right in the middle of the historic district of Fredericksburg. You can literally walk to everything and Caroline St is a shoppers delight especially if you love antiques. Our room was the least expensive in the house and it was gorgeous. The canopy bed was so comfortable and there were many small welcoming touches not only in the room but throughout the entire Inn. Bonnie is a perfect hostess and add her own charm to that of this historic house.


What a Gem!

5 sur janvier 18, 2007

Charm, Charm, Charm. It's definitely like a little bit of the old world in Virgina. Rooms were large and accomodating. Inn keeper also very helpful. Delightful relaxing room with many up-to-date DVD's to watch. Also, take a little nip of the port provided before bed.


Richard Johnston Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $125 - $250
  • Avis (88) 4,7
  • Chambres 12
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5408997606

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut check