Artist's Inn & Gallery - Terre Hill, PA Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas sur place4,8

Notation basée sur
82 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Pleasant surprise near Lancaster

5 sur août 26, 2018

Last minute search for an unplanned mid-week getaway turned up this Inn located in Terre Hill, PA about 10 minute drive from PA turnpike. Bruce is a talented, whimsical illustrator and Jan has an unbelievably creative talent in breakfast preparation and presentation. Each morning's meal was artfully presented with style and tasted great. Other than that, they are just ordinarily wonderful folks whose suggestions for local summer antique and quilt hunting excursions and directions were spot on and helped even the GPS challenged.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for posting. Your comment about being GPS challenged made us chuckle. Some of our favorite places are off the beaten path or never mentioned in the usual tourist information. We're so glad you enjoyed our recommendations for places to buy quilts and find antiques. Fun, fun, fun!

- Jan (innkeeper)


A Return Visit for our Wedding Anniversary

5 sur août 23, 2018

Once again we had a wonderful stay at the Artist's Inn and Gallery! The room was comfortable and quiet. Jan's four course breakfast was excellent--another meal to remember! The breakfasts are always tasty, unique, and filling! We certainly enjoyed returning to this B&B for our wedding anniversary!

Réponse du propriétaire
We're so glad you were able to visit again. We are always happy to celebrate!!! We wish you many more happy years together.

- Jan, Owner (innkeeper)


A weekend well spent

4,0 sur août 22, 2018

Bruce met us at the front door with a warm welcome, the Inn was cozy and comfortable from the time we stepped in the door you felt at home from the beginning. Jan is so friendly and charming and we felt like we had new friends. They really know the area and can help steer you to points of interest that would be easily missed if you just stuck to the tourist traps of the area. Breakfast was outstanding but the ratings wouldn't let me rank the dining as such. Jan has such a flare for setting a beautiful table and presentation of the food. It is true that you can go from breakfast to supper on what she provides! We slept so well, the town is peaceful and the bed very comfortable. We were very touched by the surprise treats on the bed each night with our bedcovers being turned down. We will definitely return to this special place.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for writing. I'm not sure why this site won't let you rate the way you want. You may have to contact them directly.... Thanks for posting about things to do - there are lots of out-of-the-way treasures to be found - and they change frequently. We're so happy to share our little corner of Lancaster County. Thanks for visiting.

- Jan, Owner (innkeeper)


Always an absolute pleasurable experience

5 sur juillet 09, 2018

This was our second visit and an absolute pleasure. Jan and Bruce are the greatest, rooms, landscape, food outstanding. The greatest attention to detail and two of the finest, most interesting folks you ever want to meet. Joy and I love to ride around the area in search of different flowers, vegetables and landscape material. Jan share some of her favorites which turned out to be sensational. We couldn't want a finer way to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. Looking forward to returning. Gary and Joy Nokes

Réponse du propriétaire
Oh, it was so much fun to talk flowers and plants all through breakfast. Thanks again for including us as part of your anniversary celebration. We wish you many more years of happiness together.

- Jan, Owner (innkeeper)


The best!!

5 sur avril 04, 2018

We have the best time every time! What can I say other than this bed and breakfast is perfection!!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much. Such high praise - we'll do our best to live up to that in the future!

- Jan (innkeeper)


Relaxing mini vacation

4,8 sur mars 20, 2018

Very relaxing and welcoming Inn. Traditional country setting in each room. Exceptionally clean and comfortable. Jan is an amazing cook! Breakfast was above and beyond - no need for lunch!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks so much for posting a review. And for the compliments! Glad that you had more time for shopping and fun stuff and that breakfast carried you through lunch!

- Jan (innkeeper)


Charming B&B

5 sur mars 10, 2018

Spent a enjoyable weekend in this beautiful, charming home. The innkeeper Jan graciously welcomed us and was quite informative as where to go for eating and shopping throughout our stay. She prepared the most amazing breakfasts with portions that kept us satisfied until dinner. We were surrounded by gorgeous antiques and amusing artwork painted by her husband Bruce. We highly recommend staying at this B&B. Perfect host, home and area.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for posting a review. We're so glad that you had a good visit. Seems like there's always a lot to do in Lancaster County...no matter what the season!

- Jan (innkeeper)


A wonderful way to turn 60 years old!

4,8 sur mars 08, 2018

Everything about this Bed and Breakfast was wonderful. Jan and Bruce are perfect hosts. The breakfasts were outstanding. Close to many fun things to do and places to see. Will go back again sometime.

Réponse du propriétaire
Happy Birthday! We're so glad that you were able to visit for such a fun occasion. The more you learn about Lancaster County, the more you realize how much there is to do! We're glad to share them - especially the off-the-beaten path places!

- Jan (innkeeper)


Anniversary Weekend

5 sur mars 06, 2018

Just spent a wonderful weekend at this beautiful and comfortable B&B. Jan was so pleasant and accommodating and enjoyed talking with her while enjoying the most delicious and extremely generous portioned breakfast each morning. Beautiful antiques decorated the entire home along with the most amusing and clever artwork created by Jan's husband Bruce. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend surrounded by comfort and beauty then I highly recommend a stay at the Artist's Inn & Gallery.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for spending your anniversary with us. And thanks for all the kind words. We really do appreciate them. Ah, there's nothing ilke finding a warm fuzzy in your inbox!

- Jan (innkeeper)


Perfect Stay

5 sur février 22, 2018

My husband and I celebrated my 60th birthday here. Jan and Bruce are perfect hosts. We felt right at home. We are already planning our next visit.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much - we love celebrations! I'm so glad that you felt comfortable and we're looking forward to seeing you again.

- Jan (innkeeper)


Lovely Holiday Getaway

5 sur janvier 03, 2018

My husband and I recently enjoyed our stay here in the Kris Kringle Room. The Inn is lovely. We loved our room as well as the breakfast. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the husband is a very talented artist with fantastic artwork! I would definitely recommend this place - it's cozy and romantic.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for posting a review. I'm sorry I didn't see it sooner. The holidays are a perfect time to stay in the Kris Kringle Room. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you can return when the weather is a bit warmer. There's always so much to do in Lancaster County.

- Jan (innkeeper)


Nice place to get away

3,0 sur décembre 30, 2017

The Inn was a bit pricey but certainly a pleasant place to chill out! The artist was an interesting conversation facilitator. I expected to be treated with a bit more hospitality and warmth which I did not feel in abundance. The breakfast was tasty but not fabulous.

Réponse du propriétaire
I'm sorry I didn't see this review earlier - just seeing this now three months later. I'm so sorry you didn't feel more welcome. I also regret that (in this forum) I have no idea who you are or what might have been going on while you were here. Certainly no excuse for not making you feel welcome, though. Please accept our apologies and if you'd like, give us another try sometime. It is our goal to make everyone feel welcome but not encroach on your space. We try to take our cue from our guests - and we've been in business 21 years, but maybe we just read the situation wrong. Please feel free to contact us by email or phone so that we can apologize personally.

- Jan (innkeeper)


Great place to stay

5 sur janvier 28, 2016

Great place to stay

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We truly appreciate it and are so glad that you enjoyed the cottage. We hope to see you again sometime.

- Jan Garrabrandt (innkeeper)


Highly Recommended

5 sur décembre 20, 2015

I recently spent a few days visiting with friends and stayed at the Artist’s Inn in the garden suite. I so enjoyed some quiet time in the suite, it is so inviting, and the reflection of the fireplace stove flames dancing on the ceiling at night is just magical. The inn and all of the amenities provided make for a very comfortable and cozy stay.


Serene

4,6 sur septembre 09, 2015

Had a wonderful time here at the Artist's Inn. My husband and I were able to relax and just enjoy the scenery every moment that we were there. Bruce and Jan out do themselves to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Such a great place to stay if you want quiet, tranquil time to yourselves. Just a quick drive to shops or restaurants. My favorite thing was hearing the clip-clop of the horse and buggy going passed. BB.


Comfortable and Cozy

4,8 sur juillet 10, 2015

Warm and wonderful both inside and outside. After driving all day, it was with a sigh of pleasure I opened the door to beautiful pine floors and cozy furniture in the friendliest of atmospheres. Freshly baked cookies and coffee cake awaited and I just had to set the coffee pot to brewing. Wonderful! The cottage is in a perfect location for exploring the Amish countryside, shopping and eating, eating, eating! Loved it all and will do again.


Beats Expectations

5 sur avril 26, 2015

The Artist’s Inn and Gallery, 117 East Main St., Terre Hill, PA, -- the heart of Old Amish Country -- surpasses expectations. Lovingly restored Victorian features uniquely decorated guest rooms by innkeeper owners, Bruce and Jan Garrabrandt. Artist and author Bruce’s paintings of climbing roses seemingly come alive from the corner of aptly named Rose Room walls, where we stayed. Jan is a multi-tasking extraordinaire. She not only sewed hand-made window treatments throughout the house, but also serves up a different four-course breakfast each morning on a table impeccable dressed. (Knife rests!) Forget lunch, you won’t need it. Each morning of your stay, you will be treated to a special delicious breakfast and Jan’s amazing hospitality! Prepare to be graciously pampered in a style that feels like it’s from your closest friend. Bruce’s whimsical colored pencil artwork and books for purchase also can be enjoyed in the library. Pot of hot coffee, electric tea kettle, nice teas, freshly made cookies always available. Hersey candies throughout the house – Hersey World is less than an hour away. Upstairs, a Keurig coffeemaker, small frig, game room. If this is your first visit to the Pennsylvania Amish Country, then The Artist’s Inn is an excellent way to enjoy the experience. Front and side porches, offer a comfortable place to watch the constant stream of horse and buggies clip-clop past. Jan is also superior to most any hotel concierge you’ll meet. She’ll explain that there are more than Amish in Amish Country – don’t forget the Mennonite – and more than one sect, so don’t be confused by seeing some faithful ladies wearing colorful print dresses while others are in black and some men plowing fields with horses and mules while others use tractors – with metal wheels. Jan prints out directions to various local points of interest. If given enough notice, she’ll arrange a dinner with an Amish family. It doesn’t get any better than that.


A Delightful B&B

5 sur juin 30, 2014

I doubt I can find the proper words to express our satisfaction with The Artist's Inn and Gallery. Although we only spent one night, we throughly enjoyed ourselves. On our arrival, Jan greeted us, gave us a tour of the property, then settled us into our room. We had the Kris Kringle Room and it was tastefully decorated in a Christmas theme. The bed was nice and comfortable. We spent most of the evening on the front porch sitting in rocking chairs with a bottle of wine watching the Amish pass by in their buggies. In the morning we were treated to a delicious four course breakfast served by Bruce. I feel the word delicious is understated in this case because the food was so good. Jan and Bruce provided us with a wonderful ending to our week-long drive vacation through Pennsylvania and the Virginias. We have not stopped talking about it and will be back to enjoy the hospitality of The Artist's Inn and Gallery and explore more of Lancaster County.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks so much for posting a review. We're so glad you enjoyed the porch...porch sitting is a wonderful pastime in Lancaster County! We hope to see you again.

- Jan Garabrandt, Owner (innkeeper)


A wonderful stay!

4,8 sur avril 29, 2014

Our time at the Artist's Inn & Gallery was a WONDERFUL stay. The gracious innkeepers went over and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and pleasant. The food, very plentiful, was delicious and was presented on a beautiful table. We want to go back!


Spring Getaway

5 sur mai 23, 2013

From the start we were greeted with a friendly smile and a feeling of warmth. There was no awkwardness, but rather a "come in and sit awhile" feeling. As we were on our way out to the Sight and Sound show, Jan made sure we knew all the ins and outs of the house in case we came home late. Upon our return from the show our bed was turned down with chocolate turtle confections on pillows. We slept well, accommodations were superb! In the morning we enjoyed browsing through Bruce's whimsical colored pencil artwork (Even bought one!). Breakfast was wonderful ...Pecan waffles with Blueberry compote as well as home made zucchini bread. Great right down to the Stevia leaves which were a great treat! Thank you for your conversation and making us feel like we could stay for a week! A definite must try for anyone considering a visit! Fond Memories....Don & Barb Livingston


Beautiful, Peaceful, Friendly B&B

5 sur avril 19, 2013

We have spent many happy days and nights at this special inn but this time we were excited to share our experience with dear friends. From the moment we arrived, Jan and Bruce made us feel completely at home. The inn itself is beautiful with each piece of furniture selected and placed with care and thoughtfulness. Jan's famous cookies had to be sampled and the gardens demanded a visit. Our rooms were perfect- clean and ready with anything that might be needed. Bruce's colored pencil drawings throughout delighted each one of us. The porch on a beautiful spring evening was the most relaxing place any of us could imagine. Both couples agreed that the beds were very comfortable and we especially loved the amazing sheets. They had a luxurious feel and did not wrinkle. Jan's breakfast presentation each day was done with style and grace. Special tableware, napkins, napkin holders... The food was delicious and different each day. Jan is definitely a gourmet cook who takes pride in what she prepares and serves. This is a destination to which we must repeatedly return - as soon as possible.


Artist's Inn and Gallery, Terre Hill, PA

5 sur avril 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Artist's Inn and Gallery in Terre Hill, Lancaster, PA. Innkeepers Bruce and Jan Garrabrandt are hospitable hosts. The inn boasts two of their rooms with king size beds, which is not customary for a bed and breakfast inn. Bruce is an artist with an incredible sense of humor, which is depicted in most of his colored pencil drawings. He is creative and whimsical and it is almost impossible to leave the inn without a purchase of one of his drawings or books. Jan's cooking is a culinary delight. They are both attentive to every detail, printing maps and coupons for guests, along with making wonderful suggestions for restaurants, antique markets. etc. We highly recommend the Artist Inn for a memorable stay in Lancaster. You may research their website at www.artistinn.com Tom & Carole


Rest, Refresh & Release

5 sur octobre 09, 2011

My husband and I came to Lancaster and stumbled into the Artist's Inn. It was our lucky day because we really needed to unwind and relax. Although we were only with Jan for less then 24 hous, we were so impressed that we told all our friends and family. We even bought one of Bruce's beautiful works of art. We stayed in the suite and loved every minute, not counting a delicious breakfast by Jan the next morning. We are definitely returning. Hopefully, sooner then later. Anne & Charles, Medford, NJ


Artist's Inn, Terre Hill, PA

4,2 sur septembre 22, 2011

The hosts are a lovely couple who were more than helpful in providing information about the area and points of interests. The breakfast was superb, produced by someone who, you can tell, loves to cook. The room was quirky (the toilet was separate in a closet), but when you are dealing with a 160 year old house that has been retrofitted for plumbing and electricity, it is to be expected. The one thing that was missing was we could have used a chair in the room.


Romantic, welcoming and peaceful.

5 sur juin 19, 2011

My husband and I have been to this lovely Inn many times but it will never be enough. As soon as we leave, we look forward to returning. Jan and Bruce are extremely caring and devoted to the comfort and satisfaction of their guests. The rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated. The Garden Suite, our favorite place to stay, has a large private porch from which I enjoy the view down into the valley. It's nice to sit there in the morning and read in the solitude and welcome a new day. Breakfasts are always delicious and filling enough to keep you happy all day. The gallery where Bruce's colored pencil artwork is displayed is a great place to spend time. It's impossible not to smile as you examine his humorous pieces. Every time we visit, we meet new and interesting people. Inevitably, most guests become "repeat offenders" because, like us, they find that once is not enough. Jan and Bruce can recommend a restaurant that will appeal to your specific taste. They can also guide you to amazing local nurseries and produce stands. The Terre Hill area is the only place now that we buy our plants each spring. Several dinner theatres as well as the American Music Theatre are within easy driving distance of The Artist's Inn and Gallery. Be prepared to become addicted to all the Inn has to offer, especially the sound of horse and buggy clip-clopping past on Main Street.


Our Stay Was All We Hoped For and Then Some

4,8 sur avril 18, 2011

My husband surprised me with a visit to the Inn for our 18th anniversary. He could not have made a better choice. Jan and Bruce are the perfect hosts with warm conversation, excellent service, plenty of assistance when it came to information about the area, suggestions of places to visit, and directions. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts Jan prepared were scrumptious with so much offered it was easy to overindulge. Jan went above and beyond when we arrived back at the inn after a celebratory dinner out and found our bed turned down for the evening with delicious homemade chocolates and a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne. Our stay was, to say the least, delightful. We hope to return again soon.


I just had the most wonderful visit at the Artist’s Inn and Gallery!

4,6 sur mars 29, 2011

I just had the most wonderful visit at the Artist’s Inn and Gallery! I have been to Lancaster County several times and believe I have found the most perfect place to stay in this unique and loved destination. Terre Hill is a charming, quaint little town which overlooks the surrounding farmlands. The location provides such peace and an air of country living while still being convenient to all the tourist attractions of Straussburg, Bird in Hand, Intercourse, Lancaster City and all the area has to offer. But if you are looking for a getaway where the only thing on the itinerary is sitting out on the porch leisurely reading a book or going for a stroll in the country side to take in some fresh air and gorgeous views, The Artist’s Inn & Gallery is the place to come and unwind. The innkeeper Jan is a concierge extraordinaire. She has the key to the county with an extensive list of contacts of local merchants and service providers. Whatever it is you would like to do Jan can arrange it for you, map it out for you, get you coupons and still will ask you to call if you get lost. I came to her door in a sorry state after my vacation plans fell apart and Jan whisked up a perfectly tailored itinerary indulging us for the next two days. I feel like one need just arrive and everything else would be taken care of by Jan and Bruce. Breakfast is sublime. Served by candle light and coming in five courses it is a warm and delightful experience which will leave you full well past lunch. Jan and Bruce are foodies and it shows. They go well above and beyond the typical B&B fare with local fresh ingredients a wide variety of tastes and choices. So conscientious, they will adjust the menu for dietary needs and tastes. Jan really throws down in the kitchen. You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend this Inn. It is perfect for family holidays, romantic escapes, girlfriend getaways, and personal me times. I can’t wait to go back


Great winter weekend!

4,8 sur février 25, 2011

It was so great to return ( for the 5th time) to the Artist's Inn. We usually visit during the summer, so this time it was great to turn on the fireplace in our room. So wonderful! Breakfast and company was fabulous:) Can't wait to return!


Nice place :)

5 sur novembre 12, 2010

We spent our 20th wedding anniversary in the Cottage ... very nice, tons of room ... very homey :) Great stay all around!


Revisit

4,8 sur octobre 11, 2010

Comfortable and clean with excellent food and conversation.


The Perfect Getaway

5 sur octobre 08, 2010

This place is fantastic! You will not be disappointed. My wife and I stayed in the Stone Cottage, which was lovely--it had a beautiful master bedroom with a great jacuzzi tub and awesome shower. The cottage was the perfect size that still felt cozy, but roomy at the same time. Perhaps our favorite part of our stay were the 4-course breakfasts Jan cooked for us and the hospitality she showed us throughout. We've stayed at several bed and breakfasts and this was by far the most hospitable of them all. She helped us from the moment we called, arranging theater tickets, a farm visit, restaurant recommendations, and more. She is a lovely woman, and makes you feel right at home (yet still on vacation...not like an awkward "inn" where you feel more like you're in your aunt's house than on vacation). While we never met her husband Bruce who was out of the area showing his art, we felt like we got to know him through his incredibly witty art on display around the inn parlor. It will give you a great laugh! This place is truly great. We will definitely return in the future!


Comfortable anniversary

3,2 sur octobre 04, 2010

Comfortable interior, good food, kind people, convenient location.


I can't wait to go back!

4,8 sur septembre 06, 2010

The Artist’s Inn is a wonderful, relaxing place to stay! Jan and Bruce are wonderful hosts and made us feel so welcome. Their home is beautiful and the breakfasts that Jan prepares are to die for! An added treat is getting to see all of Bruce’s artwork!


Family vacation

5 sur août 06, 2010

My family stayed here for 5 days for a trip to Lancaster county. Jan and Bruce are the best, helped out with directions or whatever you could have asked for including stocking the kitchen for your arrival. Terre Hill is a beautiful quite town away from it all but close to everything. Helpful hint, there is not alot open on Sundays. We stayed in the Carriage House and it was like being at home much better than any hotel.


PURRRRRRfect Peace

5 sur août 06, 2010

Unbelievable - Beautiful and you could not meet nicer folks that take care of the OWNERS of the house! Sweetie is still my favorite! An incredible getaway in a beautiful, amazing home! Not to mention the awesome food. We were so spoiled! We look forward to going back. Eric and Nancie Zanker


I Felt Like I Was In England!

4,8 sur août 02, 2010

My husband and I just had our first Bed and Breakfast experience. We stayed two nights at the Artist's Inn and Gallery in Terre Hill, PA. The innkeepers, Jan and Bruce, have made this a very comfortable, inviting and relaxing place to stay. We purposely ended our shopping day early just so we could go back and enjoy the place. The four course candlelight breakfast was so delicious and enjoyable. It made me feel like I was in England. The beautiful flowers, the porch off the "Garden Suite" and the humorous artwork, all made for a wonderful memory of our 30th wedding anniversary!


The Best Inn Ever

5 sur juillet 17, 2010

Our arrival was not only late but not booked and Jan & Bruce made us feel so welcome. The room was so pretty and comfortable. The 4 course breakfast was to die for not only for its taste but the presention was so creative and beautiful. The friendly happy chatting around the breakfast table all made it into a wonderful start to the day. We would have loved to stay longer but it wasn't possible on our timetable. Whilst settling the bill we wandered around the guest lounge sitting room and enjoyed the amazing creative art work done by Bruce. We enjoy our book of your art work Bruce, great coffee table book. thank you both once again. you could spend a good week enjoying the surrounding areas. The Aussies


It Just Gets Better!

5 sur mai 25, 2010

We just got back from our 6th stay at the Artist's Inn and Gallery and once again, we had a fabulous time. Charming, clena, comfortable rooms, delicious (and huge!) breakfast by candlelight, and Jan and Bruce are always ready with recommendations for dining, shopping, anything you want! We're already planning our next visit!


Porch time

5 sur mai 21, 2010

Yes, it's hard to have high blood pressure after five minutes on the side porch looking at the lovely gardens and the farmland beyond. Inside, the rooms are beautiful and very welcoming. The wonderful art work by Bruce brings smiles as you meander throughout the rooms and the fabulous smells of breakfast in the morning let you know that Jan is busy creating a delicious and artistic breakfast. We can't wait to go back. Shopping locally for herbs and tomato plants (especially heirlooms) is a bonus.


Really wonderful stay

5 sur mai 10, 2010

We stayed here for a weekend and we're pretty picky about where we stay (not into the cheesy types of places, very picky about value and food) and we were really happy! The cost was amazing considering the amazing service. They were sweet without being interfering, and the food was AMAZING! They create a new menu every morning based on what they have, AND based on dietary restrictions. I am a vegetarian and don't eat eggs and I had too many things to choose from! I highly recommend this place.


Perfect

5 sur mars 30, 2010

This was our first bed & breakfast experience. On this trip, besides myself, were my mother and 13 yr old daughter. My daughter was turning 13 on the day of our arrival, so we were there to celebrate her birthday with a bed & breakfast and to see Joseph at Sight & Sounds (which was an awesome show, by the way) The Artist's Inn is soo cozy, we felt at home from the moment we walked in the door. Jan & Bruce are just the most pleasant people and they made this stay extra special by adding special touches for my daughter's birthday. My mother was thrilled with the antiques throughout the Inn and it seemed to have brought back some good memories for her. The rooms are all very nicely decorated, the pictures just dont do it justice. And you do hear the clip clopping of horses going down the street!! Breakfast was.........superb, elegant. Jan is an excellent cook. Jan & Bruce are a very classy couple. The entire stay was wonderful and next time, oh yes there will be a next time, I will be bringing my hubby.


Gift 2-night stay from family -- 50th wedding anniversary

4,6 sur novembre 09, 2009

We felt very pampered -- Jan & Bruce were very pleasant and helpful in suggesting places in the area. Our breakfasts were delicious and the table beautifully laid. Jan cooperated with our family's requests.


Loved it!

4,8 sur octobre 28, 2009

Everything was great -- from the warm welcome with tea & cookies to the excellent 4-course gourmet breakfast each day to the care and concern for giving lots of area info -- our every need was met and exceeded.


Perfect retreat to relax and eat!

5 sur septembre 20, 2009

My husband and I were delighted by our stay at Artist's Inn. The room was adorable, quiet, and private. Bruce has a very enjoyable sense of humor and fantastic artwork, and Jan's cooking is amazing. We can't imagine you'll find a better breakfast or friendlier hosts anywhere! -- Keith and Sue


Unique and charming B & B

5 sur septembre 17, 2009

The Artist's Inn is a wonderful place to stay. Jan is the epitome of the perfect hostess, who anticipates and attends to her guests' every need. The breakfast is sumptuous, the house oozes charm. and the art gallery provides a view into Bruce's slightly warped sense of humor. Delightful!


A lovely inn

3,8 sur août 19, 2009

Filled with art owrk and lovely old charm, the over 150 year old B&B is a great place to spend some relaxing time on the front porch while Amish buggies go by. A great gourmet breakfast as well.


Room at the Inn for Wandering Aussies

5 sur août 13, 2009

Our long term interest in the Amish and Mennonite Christian tradition brought us from Australia to Lancaster County for a week. We needed an Inn! Our expectations were exceeded many times over. The hospitality of Jan and Bruce was outstanding. Innkeeper Jan was invariably happy, accommodating, generous and willing to help our interests and itinerary - perhaps 'unfazed' is the word I am looking for. Jan went to a great deal of trouble to helping us track down people to helping us pat mules! - now that is something else! Jan's home cooked 'every day a new delight' breakfast menu is just fantastic. Jan even keeps a record of our menus so that next time we will not eat the same menu, unless requested. The delicious breakfasts also meant dollars in the bank as lunch was never needed. Location is marvellous as it is 5 minutes off the busy tourist thoroughfares and so gives rest and yet all is near when required. Administration, service and web were all accurate, clear and helpful. We have stayed in many fine B&Bs in many countries and The Artists Inn is our number 1 - enjoy it! Thank you to Jan and her gifted husband - artist with picture and pen, imbued with a wry spirit of humor and self-reflection that brings forth our laughter and knowing nod to wisdom expressed. Thank you, Jan and Bruce. God bless you and all your guests.


Beautiful Cottage to Celebrate 80th Birthday

5 sur juillet 27, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Artist's Inn Olde Stone Cottage. The cottage is as beautiful as pictured and being located on Main Street was a treat as we sat on the porch and listened to the horses pass by the cottage. We agreed that we all felt at home. As we were celebrating mom's 80th birthday, it was important to me that she have a good time. Toward the end of the week, mom leaned over and said "this was the very best vacation she ever had". Thank you Bruce and Jan!


Truly Lovely

5 sur juillet 21, 2009

This is the first time we have ever stayed in a B&B and it was wonderful. Our room was the Kris Kringle room and it was beautiful. I loved all the beautiful antiques. Jan told us some great stories about a family that had previously owned the house. The breakfast was delicious and when we couldn't make it for breakfast she provided me with sconces and coffee to go. We will definitely stay again!! Thank you Bruce and Jan so much for you hospitality.


Stay in Terre Hill at the Artist's Inn

4,4 sur juin 27, 2009

Our hosts, Jan and Bruce, were superb and the Carriage House was perfect for our family. What a lucky find! It was a home away from home. Plenty of room, very clean and so scenic with the surrounding farmlands. We had a wonderful time in this quiet, friendly town where Amish and Mennonite families are your neighbors. Can't beat seeing and hearing the horse and buggies pass by while relaxing on the deck. All the sites are a drive away through the breathtaking landscapes. Go out for the day and come back to relaxation and hospitality. We highly recommend the Artist's Inn!!


The Artist's Inn

5 sur mai 20, 2009

The innkeepers were warm, personable people. They worked hard to make us comfortable. They were full of information. Conversations with Bruce were so interesting. He is a great artist and a great chef!


Nothing Could Be Better

5 sur mai 16, 2009

My husband and I have been enjoying the Inn for about three years. It just gets better and better. We are looking forward to our next stay, which begins tomorrow (May, 2009). The rooms are bright, clean and welcoming. Jan is amazing in the kitchen. Bruce's pictures, books and video enjoy lots of space and attention in our home. We love the gardens and the family cats. We are always welcomed and made to feel as though we are part of the family. Each time we think of getting away from home, The Artist's Inn and Gallery is the one place that consistently beckons us.


A great getaway!!

5 sur mars 11, 2009

A home filled with humor that is as in cats, cows, moose, and creatures of all kind depicted in artwork created by Bruce. A home filled with delicious breakfasts created by Jan. Just a fun place to stay in nicely decorated rooms.


Little piece of HEAVEN -- Beautiful, Peaceful, Glorious

5 sur février 24, 2009

My grandmother (country lady from Georgia) died at the age of 88. This bed & breakfast with white door knobs, wood floors, lamp/window shades, antique chairs, and quilts on the beds all reminded me of her. She and my soulmate, Greg, never had the chance to meet. The experience of this wonderful "home" felt as if I introduced him to her. Also, we reside and work in metro Washington, DC. The Artist Inn provided ULTIMATE relaxation. Valentine's weekend 2009 was awesome!! -Julie


relaxing getaway

4,4 sur novembre 04, 2008

excellent service! Absolutely outstanding breakfast! Friendly, warm and accommodating!


A Time of Peace

5 sur octobre 15, 2008

This was the best experience vacationing we have ever had. It was awesome! The location was ideal, the room was clean, spacious & comfortable, the meals were the quality of a gourmet restaurant. The only food we had twice was coffee! Can't wait to go back!


The romantic Getaway-

5 sur septembre 23, 2008

Hositality was excellent, food was amazing and the romance was fantastic.


Peaceful Tranquility

5 sur septembre 19, 2008

We stayed here for our 20th Anniversary, and we couldn't have picked a better place. Jan was the perfect hostess, she made us feel right at home. It was very peacful to sit out on the front porch and watch the buggies go by.We truly enjoyed our stay at the Artist Inn. We even bought one of Bruce's beautiful color pencil drawings as a momento of our stay at the inn. I can hardly wait for the next trip back to the Artist Inn.


wonderful breakfast

4,2 sur septembre 08, 2008

It was my boyfriend's first time at a B&B and I am so glad we went to the Artist's Inn as Jan could not have made him feel more welcome and the room was wonderful, all the little touches (chocolates on the bed, fridge stocked with cold drinks at night and homemade cookies) really got his attention. The breakfast was delicious and there was more than we could eat. It was expensive in the Garden room but worth it.


outstanding

4,4 sur août 02, 2008

We had a wonderful time at this truly lovely B&B


Wonderful Time at the Cottage !

5 sur juin 28, 2008

We recently stayed at the Artist’s Inn and Gallery’s Old Stone Cottage for our honeymoon. It was absolutely wonderful! The cottage is done with so much attention to detail that it stands out in every single room. The décor is wonderful without being overdone. The cottage is luxurious with a wonderful bed and even a whirlpool in the master bedroom. The shower is right out of the 21st century. Bruce and Jan were exceptionally nice and helpful too! It was a perfect experience and a wonderful stay. Nothing could have been better after the stress and turmoil of pulling off a wedding. We hope to go back many times! The combination of this fantastic cottage and the peace of Lancaster is a balm to the soul. Absolutely recommended without reserve !


So happy together at "The Cottage"

4,6 sur juin 17, 2008

Wonderfully relaxing!


Artists Inn Carriage House Exceptional

5 sur juin 16, 2008

We were fortunate to be among the first guests at the Carriage House. It is truly amazing...the furnishings, the decor, the amenities. Not a detail was overlooked. We can't wait to return!


Santa Fe would be pleased

4,4 sur mai 19, 2008

We stayed in the Kris Kringle room, which was nicely furnished. The innkeepers were very friendly and knowledgeable about restaurants and attractions. The breakfasts were delicious.


Artist's Inn & Gallery

4,8 sur mai 07, 2008

Our stay was wonderful. Bruce and Jan have such a passion for the history of the inn. The food was outstanding. The inn a joy to explore.


One night wasn't enough!

4,6 sur avril 07, 2008

My boyfriend and I spent one night in the Kris Kringle room and just loved it. From the moment we arrived in beautiful Terre Hill, Jan (the innkeeper) was warm and welcoming. After a tour of the inn, we enjoyed delicious fresh baked cookies and hot tea on the porch, while listening to the soft classical music piped throughout the house. Our room was much bigger than we expected, and very relaxing (the Christmas-themed decor was great, as well). Only one other couple was staying there at the time and since they were up and out early, we had breakfast to ourselves (and Jan was more than happy to make anything we requested). The four course breakfast was just divine - I don't know if my favorite was the sweet potato, zucchini, cranberry bread or Jan's special happy apple pancakes (or the delightful raspberry brownies!). Of course, we loved spending time with the resident cats as well. My only "complaint" is that we only booked one night!


Friendship

5 sur février 22, 2008

This is an experience not to be missed. Bruce and Jan are friendly but have a unique personality that make it enjoyable.


Still the best

5 sur février 06, 2008

After 9 years of visits with Jan and Bruce, you could be forgiven if you thought things might tend to get stale over the years. However, you would be mistaken! The Artist's Inn simply gets better and better. As good an artist as Bruce is on paper, Jan matches him in the kitchen. Her breakfasts are unique, unusual, and HUGE! The best, aside from large, comfortable, and welcoming rooms, is just Jan and Bruce themselves. If you've been in the Lancaster area and haven't visited here, you're missing a big, big treat.


Artist's Inn.

5 sur novembre 21, 2007

Excellent inn. Very warm and friendly. Would definetly go back.


A Very Special Place!

4,8 sur novembre 03, 2007

Innkeepers Jan and Bruce know exactly how to run an inn, and they do it well! Our weekend stay was a choice made by our children as a gift to us, and they could not have made a better selection. Our first experience at a B&B was wonderful! The overall hospitality, decor of the home, comfortable bed, along with Jan's cooking and Bruce's unique gallery made our stay unforgettable!


Artist's Inn & Gallery

4,6 sur octobre 26, 2007

This property was outstanding


Fantastic!

5 sur octobre 23, 2007

Please stay here! What a beautiful little area Terre Hill is. We stayed one night in the Garden Suite, and it was fantastic. The room was beautiful with a king-sized bed and whirlpool-for-two. Our private porch had outstanding views of Lancaster Cty. Jan's breakfast was incredible, and we bought a few of Bruce's pictures. Excellent, excellent time!


The Best Place for Relaxation

5 sur octobre 21, 2007

This was our 9th or 10th visit this year. Our goal is to visit once a month for at least three nights each time. Even then, it's hard to wait until the next reserved time. We love the inn and the innkeepers. They've made us feel more than welcome each time. Bruce's artwork is the happiest display of creativity ever and we now own several of his pieces. Jan makes the best breakfast we've ever tasted. We arrived home yesterday afternoon from our latest stay and this morning I dreamed I could smell Jan's heavenly creations drifting upstairs to wake me. Each time we've stayed at the inn we have met amazing people. Now I'm making myself homesick for Terre Hill so hurry up, November.


Artist's Inn

4,4 sur octobre 18, 2007

A quiet outstanding B&B. Very welcoming hostess. Breakfasts superb and the art gallery delightful. A real home from home.


Artists Inn.

4,6 sur octobre 17, 2007

This bed and breakfast was outstanding.


Artist's Inn

5 sur octobre 16, 2007

We can't think of anything to improve on.


08/28/07

4,2 sur octobre 15, 2007

This property exceeded my expectations


Everything & more that a special night should offer!

5 sur juillet 19, 2007

We were lucky enough to stay in this incredible place for just one short night! The food is amazing, the art is dazzling and the best part about it is the wonderful couple who run this piece of paradise. We enjoyed every second and hope to return again someday!


Great breakfasts

4,6 sur mai 17, 2007

The Artist's Inn is a true PA Dutch gem. I really enjoyed my stay there. Not only is it a comfortable B&B, but it's a gallery of Bruce's works (which are wonderful) too. The breakfast was truly one of the best I've ever enjoyed at any B&B I've visited...finished off with dessert! Who could ask for a better way to start the day. Loved it!


Wonderful

5 sur mai 16, 2007

We were greeted by the "bell boy" as he called himself - AKA Michael, one of the innkeepers. - very funny guy! The Inn is wonderfully relaxing and beautiful to spend time in. Jan and Michael were very accomidating and treated us like we were their only quests. We were not. In fact we found out the next morning both couples has been there before. Jan is a great cook and Michaels artwork is fun to view. We have one of his pictures in our home to remind us of our visit to the inn. Enjoy your stay!


What a find!

5 sur avril 25, 2007

Room beautiful and clean. Food scrumptious. Hosts warm, funny and attentive.Location great. Will return.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks so much for posting a review on bedandbreakfast.com. We really do appreciate your efforts.

- Jan and Bruce (innkeeper)


great place to stay

4,8 sur avril 18, 2007

This is a great place. It is central to where the outlets are located in Lancaster and also several wineries along the Berks county wine trail. Our Rose room was wonderful and the breakfast was amazing!!!!! Also, one of the owners has some truly unique and humorous art work that is displayed and can be purchased.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks so much for posting a review on Bedandbreakfast.com. We truly appreciate it.

- Jan and Bruce (innkeeper)


Artist's Inn & Gallery - Terre Hill, PA

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $125 - $260
  • Avis (82) 4,8
  • Chambres 4
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-7174450219
  • Portable 7174137314
Haut check