Rondout Inn Avis


Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
  • Services4,2
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas sur place3,8

Notation basée sur
45 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great place to stay

3,6 sur juillet 29, 2016

Everything about our stay worked great - especially being able to walk to good restaurants and not alway have to get in the car. The only thing I wold recommend is having better coffee available, especially since there is a new coffee shop right next door. Stay here, you won't regret it.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review and happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Most guests usually compliment our coffee as it is very high quality. However, I agree, our next door neighbor also has serves some very excellent coffee.

- Larry (innkeeper)

John And Jo

4,4 sur juin 03, 2016

BC and Larry were extremely helpful. They met us off the bus from Poughkeepsie, and took us to the Hannaford supermarket to catch the bus back. They also gave us very good advice on where to eat nearby

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to have made your short visit in Kingston enjoyable. Of course, we made an extra effort to pick you up and bring you to the inn. We knew there was very little chance of getting a taxi to our inn from the Midtown bus stop where the Poughkeepsie Bus left you. On such a hot day, we could not in good conscience leave you to walk the almost 2 miles or worse, to leave you stranded. We are sorry we did not meet your value expectations. Other guests have felt our rates were very reasonable for a full apartment.

- BC (innkeeper)


5 sur juillet 06, 2015

This little apartment was so perfect we didn't want to leave! It was immaculate and had everything you could ever want or need to make your stay comfortable. There were guide books and other nice touches that made you feel special. It is literally a few minutes walk down to the river and the many bars and restaurants are all on the doorstep, even though it was so peaceful we slept really well. Plenty of on street free parking and so much to do we didn't have time to fit everything in! We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely place and the very kind and helpful hosts, BC & Larry, to everyone.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks very much for the 5 star review. We're very happy you noticed the effort we put into making our apartments comfortable, efficient and special. Your well-thought out comments encourage us to constantly improve!

- BC (innkeeper)

excellent stay

5 sur juin 25, 2015

Outstanding place to stay!

Great Weekend Getaway

5 sur avril 25, 2015

My boyfriend and I recently spent a truly wonderful weekend at the Roundout Inn in Kingston, NY. This is a great place to go when you are looking for a perfect spot to relax. The accommodations couldn't have been better - we received a warm welcome from one of the owners, who gave us lots of useful information regarding places to visit in the neighborhood. The apartment itself feels like a 'home away from home' - there is a bakery right next door with great home made pastries and delicious latte. Several excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. We tried a different place every night and had a great dining experience each time. All in all we highly recommend the Roundout Inn.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here and especially our recommendation of the fabulous made-from-scratch baked goods next door (yumm). Fortunately we are able to offer guests a memorable visit with great restaurants, museums and shops in the neighborhood. Hope to see you again in the summer when the waterfront is really hopping!

- BC (innkeeper)

Nice Alternative to a Hotel

3,6 sur novembre 29, 2014

This inn is very clean and comfortable, and in a great neighborhood. It's roomy, with a full kitchen. Our only complaints: we were given a different suite than the one we had reserved and were confirmed for, which was a bit disappointing since I preferred how it looked in the website photos. And, since the owners live a half hour away, we needed to coordinate our arrival time, which turned out to be later than I had predicted, especially after we'd gotten stuck in traffic. I kept them updated about our timing, but they seemed somewhat annoyed because our delay held up their own plans for the evening. Guests shouldn't have to be concerned about this- it's hard to know just when you'll get somewhere when you are traveling; you get there when you get there. Once we arrived, though, BT was very friendly, warm, and helpful regarding neighborhood dining options.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are sorry you were disappointed you didn't get your requested suite but as we explained, a sudden two month rental forced us to make the change. We did appreciate you keeping us updated on your arrival time but we were very disappointed that our special anniversary dinner had to be cancelled. BC made a special effort to be here to welcome you into the suite. Hopefully your stay here was enjoyable and full of pleasant memories.

- BC (innkeeper)

Great stay at Rondout Inn

5 sur octobre 21, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Rondout Inn. Our stay was wonderful. The location was great, close to everything, and in nice area with great restaurants. The suite was well-designed, very clean, and very comfortable. The attention to detail was great. Everything we could possible need was provided. The furnishings were a nice mix of antiques and new items, beautifully placed in the rooms. The sheets and comforters on the bed were new and luxurious. BC and Larry are great hosts. We would definitely recommend staying at the Rondout Inn.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for the great review. We are constantly on the lookout for ways to improve and make our apartments as comfortable as possible. It's especially nice when it's noticed. Thanks again!

- BC (innkeeper)

Something in between

4,6 sur juillet 26, 2014

This inn is more than a hotel or motel and, at the same time, better than a B & B (although no breakfast) because of what you get for the price you pay. We only stayed one night but we can see, upon another visit to the area, a multi-night stay. There are all the comforts of home at a hotel/motel or B&B price. All in all, a fine place to stay. There is no dining associated with this inn and that is why the Dining section of our review gets a 3 star.

Great place to stay

5 sur avril 30, 2014

Our room was immaculate and very tastefully furnished. Lots of info on local attractions was provided in the room. Very convenient location for walking to the many excellent restaurants and to the river.

Réponse du propriétaire
You're welcome. We love to share all the great things to do and see in this area. To that end, we put a lot of effort maintaining a jumbo book full of brochures, maps and articles of what's around. Feel free to come back to see what happens all year round.

- BC (innkeeper)

A wonderful find

5 sur avril 30, 2014

Well appointed and quiet apartment like suite near the historic waterfront in Kingston. Friendly owners, simple check-in and checkout and everything (including fine restaurants) within walking distance. An added touch was that information about transportation, points of interest and menus were readily available in the suite. Perfect place for a weekend stay with a touch of class.

A lot of room for your stay

4,2 sur décembre 27, 2013

The rooms at Rondout Inn are really like small well-appointed apartments. We stayed only one night but it would be the ideal place to make your base for a longer stay when exploring Kingston and the Hudson Valley. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and having your own kitchen makes it more affordable.

Great apartment

4,2 sur octobre 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week. Very comfortable apartment on the second floor. Nicely furnished. Towels and sheets were delivered mid-stay. Walking distance to the Rondout and great restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.


5 sur octobre 10, 2013

This is not a "bed and breakfast" in that there is no breakfast provided, which was just fine with us. But every other amenity was provided, including a stocked refrigerator and umbrellas by the front door. There was no maid service, which again was just fine with us, but there were plenty of linens. The owners met us when we arrived to show us around and provide a key, then left us alone, which was just fine with us! Location is great with plenty of good dining around. Our apartment was comfortable and immaculately clean with beautiful hardwood floors. I honestly can't think of a single thing to criticize or improve!

Réponse du propriétaire
We always enjoy meeting new people and sharing what we love about this area with them. Thanks for making it easy.

- BC (innkeeper)

Comfy and Cozy

4,2 sur octobre 02, 2013

The Rondout Inn is located above a lovey antique shop. The apartment was clean and delightfully decorated with antiques, yet equipped with a modern bathroom and kitchen. It is walking distance to several shops and restaurants and centrally located in the Hudson River Valley. If you stay mid-week, the third night is free. It's a great place to stay and at reasonable prices.

Réponse du propriétaire
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay here in Kingston's waterfront. We appreciate you noticing how hard we work at keeping our little inn clean and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again!

- BC (innkeeper)


4,0 sur septembre 08, 2013

We had read the reviews, so we knew it would be good - but all the subtle touches at Rondout made us delighted with our choice. Everything was spotless and the antique decorations were memorable. It was as if we had our own flat for three days with bedroom, kitchen, living room and office (even hand-made soap in the bathroom and tempting choices on the bookshelves.) The kitchen was fully equipped. The waterfront neighborhood was full of discoveries. What a unique find!

A wonderful find!

5 sur août 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights at The Rondout Inn and could not have been happier. The welcome was most sincere, and BC made sure everything we needed to make the most of our stay was provided. The Inn was immaculate, very comfortable and a 'home from home'. The Inn was close to some wonderful restaurants, so although the kitchen was well equipped, we did eat out each evening (it was a vacation after all!). We plan to return in the future, there is so much to do in and around Kingston, and of course, to make the most of the hospitality provided by BC and Larry.

Excellent place to stay, a little noisy with foot traffic overhead if you are on the second floor however.

4,2 sur août 06, 2013

Excellent place to stay- clean, nicely furnished. My only complaint is the noise from foot traffic overhead if you are on the second floor.


4,6 sur juin 28, 2013

used the weekday special; stay 3 nights pay for only 2. what a great deal. easy to get to and from local tourist sites. i would definitely stay again. space is much larger than a hotel room at the same price. full kitchen has everything you need if you wanted to eat in.

Great location in Rondout

3,6 sur juin 09, 2013

The Inn is just as advertised. We found our suite comfortable and quiet, extremely clean and well equipped (including a brand new bathroom), with historic quirks and details, in a fun location. Innkeepers BC and Larry are very responsive in email if you have questions in advance and are accessible if you need something during your stay.

Just right

3,2 sur avril 24, 2013

We went to Kingston for a weekend getaway & to see a show - the Rondout Inn was perfect for us - clean, comfortable and convenient to everything. Thank you.

Great little town

4,2 sur avril 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rondout Inn. The location is great with its proximity to the water, lots of wonderful places to eat, and art galleries. The suite was spacious with a very comfortable bed! The full kitchen provided us an opportunity to have breakfast right there, but after coffee, we headed to a fabulous new breakfast place a few shops down. We would stay here again for sure.

Rondout Inn

4,4 sur mars 31, 2013

This was our second time at the Rondout Inn. It is situated within the Rondout area and convenient to all locations. We will definitely stay again.

Great Stay!

4,4 sur octobre 24, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in order to go to the Dutchess County Sheep and Wool Festival with my mother. The rooms were wicked cute and decorated with antiques, as the owners of Rondout Inn own the antique store on the first level. The area was great and had a few bars and restaurants within walking distance. The room was more of an apartment than a room and a bit bigger than what we needed, but we absolutely enjoyed our stay. I would probably rent there again if I needed to be in the area.

Visitors from UK

5 sur octobre 05, 2012

We stayed in the apartment on 2nd floor and it was excellent. Everty facility we could need ajnd very clean and well presented. BC and larry were so helpfukll and I would recommend this B&B top anyone. In reality it is much more like your own apratment than a room amnd has a full kitchen, and great lounge area. We stayed in six B&B across New England and some were very nice but this gets my top vote. Dining down at the waterfront was also grerat experience with many choices and we took the boat up the Hudson river too.

An outstanding Inn near the Kingston waterfront!

4,4 sur octobre 04, 2012

The mid-week deal of three nights for the price of two was very reasonable. The apartment was clean and provided all that we needed. We were within walking distance of the waterfront and the Hudson River Cruise and only 25 minutes from the Hyde Park attractions, including FDR's home & library, Eleanor's Val-Kill Cottage, and the Vanderbilt Estate. There were many restaurants within walking distance. We highly reccomend the Rondout Inn.

Rondout Inn, Kingston, NY

4,6 sur juillet 14, 2012

Among the very best places I have stayed along the Hudson River. Rooms are like suites, Hosts are exceptional and caring. Location to Kingston and Rondout is excellent. I did not elect to have breakfast provided. It is optional.

A Gem

5 sur juillet 02, 2012

My daughter and I had never visited the Kingston area before and had no idea where to stay. I feel so lucky to have come across the Rondout! It is the perfect stay in this adorable historical riverside town. The room was spacious and comfortable, Larry and BC were so helpful and welcoming, and the Inn is a block away from at least dozen great restaurants fronting the charming riverfront. Parking was easy, right in front of the Inn. I highly recommend the Rondout Inn to anyone looking for lodging in the Kingston area. The only very small suggestion I would make is that there are no black out window shades on the front windows, so it's a little bright if you like to sleep late. This doesn't apply to the bedroom, only to the living room where there is a futon. Other than that though, perfection! Thank you Rondout Inn for a wonderful experience in Kingston, NY!

Unexpected surprise

4,0 sur juin 19, 2012

Rondout/Kingston was not originally on our travel itinerary, but we're glad we stayed there. The inn is nice and the Rondout area has a nice cluster of good restaurants and historic houses. I highly recommend a stop here.

Rondout Inn

4,8 sur juin 10, 2012

Perfect location for exploring shops and resturants. Host was helpful and friendly while also providing us a sense of privacy. Highly recommend Rondout Inn.

Tastefully decorated, and great location

3,2 sur juin 06, 2012

The "room," which really was a studio apartment with a small kitchen and an attached bath above an antique store was nicely appointed. The location was great, right in the hub of the activities of the Rondout and close to a number of great restaurants and local businesses. Larry and BC were hospitable and friendly and I would recommend it for a weekend escape. It's an inn, so technically it doesn't have to provide breakfast.

Convenient and Well Appointed

4,8 sur juin 01, 2012

Although the Rondout Inn does not have dining on the premises. There are a plethora of restaurants within walking distance. The room has a full kitchen. So, meals can be prepared en suite. Larry and BC make sure you are aware of all that is around and are very helpful.

A home from home

3,8 sur décembre 02, 2011

We arrived a day late due to delays at airport so had to reschedule when to check in but the owners were there when we arrived. They were very friendly and welcoming but we never saw them again despite being told that they would be available the day before we left. We only saw the cleaner at check out. The accommodation was warm and comfortable with a lot of thoughtful extras such as tea, coffee and jam. It was self service so the service and dining were not applicable. I would certainly recommend the Inn to others and would book it again if returning to Kingston. Rene and Alan Canavan, Renfrew, Scotland.

Home away from home

4,0 sur octobre 31, 2011

A friend and I spent three days at the Rondout Inn, while in the area for the Dutchess County Sheep & Wool Festival. The rooms were perfect and we loved that we had kitchen facilities available to us. This was more like an apartment, rather than a typical hotel room. BC & Larry were the perfect hosts, going the extra mile, by investigating restaurants in walking distance that could accommodate my gluten-free requirement. I would highly recommend the Rondout Inn, and hope to be staying there again next year!!

simply the best

5 sur septembre 04, 2011

I just can't say enough about the Rondout Inn. So relaxing...had everything one would need. Larry and BC are wonderful hosts. Definately would stay there again...and again...

Thanks for the great value of your apartment

4,2 sur août 28, 2011

An extra thank you for carrying up our heavy suitcase to help me with my two cracked ribs.

Cosy stay

2,8 sur juillet 31, 2011

Nice and cosy stay with helpfull people around us. DIning is low because we didn't eat in our flat. We did however miss the possibility to cook our own breakfast or a kettle to boil water for the ;-)

Rondout Inn stay

2,6 sur juillet 09, 2011

Arrived a day late due to weather and airline problem. Rained most of our stay off and on so was happy to have the living area. Wonderful location, walk to several restaurants. Some small shops in the area. Steps up to unit very steep. Would not recommend for older people due to stairs. Smelled musty in entry hallway. Queen size bed is a four poster and very high off the floor. There is a step stool to access the bed.

Réponse du propriétaire
Our inn is in an 1820’s building, one of almost 2 dozen similar buildings in the historic waterfront district. They all have stairs, some have stairs steeper than ours, and none have elevators. What the guests thought was mustiness was dampness due to one week of torrential rain before they arrived. Both suites are decorated with furniture in keeping with the historical character of the building. True, the traditional shaker style four poster bed in the 2nd floor suite is approx. 4-5” higher than a regular bed but we made sure to provide a two tread wooden step stool designed for climbing into bed. Most of our guests have found the four poster bed both romantic and charming. Several of our guests’ reviews reflect that.

- B.C. (innkeeper)

A Spacious Apartment in Good Location

3,2 sur juin 16, 2011

If you are visiting Kingston this is a good place to stay as it is near the harbour and some great restaurants (we ate in Ship To Shore and can highly recommend it) and the owners were very helpful on check in with useful local information.The only down side if you are only staying for one or two nights and not planning to buy provisions for the apartment is that there is no breakfast supplied and the only walkable breakfast venue was closed when we visited. This also makes the cost quite high as we found most hotels to be cheaper and include breakfast and other B&B's that we have booked in the US did supply breakfast.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are sorry the guests were disappointed about breakfast. We have found that many of our guests do not want breakfast so we only offer an in-suite continental breakfast as an option. We show this option on our website as: In-suite continental breakfast available for a small surcharge. Please inquire. We even have a rave review posted by recent guests who had requested our breakfast option.

- BC (innkeeper)

Charming hide-away

4,6 sur juin 12, 2011

Larry & BC are charming and thoughtful hosts, knowledgeable of the surrounding area and very helpful. Our room -- the Wiltwyck on the third floor -- was spacious and well-appointed. The complementary sherry and chocolates made for relaxing evenings of Scrabble (available in the room, along with other board games and a broad library) after we explored the mountains. All around, a wonderful hide-away upstate, highly recommended.

Rondout Inn: An Elegant and Friendly Place to Stay in Kingston, NY

4,4 sur mai 11, 2011

My family and I had a lovely weekend at the Rondout Inn in Kingston. Our suite exceeded our expectations. It was comfortable, private and beautifully decorated with antiques from the owner's shop Mezzanine. The kitchen was well-equipped with cookware, dishes and staples like coffee, tea and sugar. The bathroom was pretty and well-stocked with toiletries. The owners DC and Larry were very friendly and full of great information about the local galleries and restaurants. I highly recommend it!

Fantastic Place

4,4 sur janvier 17, 2011

This was the most restful 3 days I have spent, Fantastic Place!!!

Rondout Inn in the Winter

4,0 sur janvier 12, 2011

This Bed & Breakfast was wonderful from the moment we arrived to when we left. Larry and BC were so warm and welcoming. Our quarters were fantastic! Not just a room, but a small apt. The decor was lovely and the place was clean and inviting. There were croissants, fresh fruit, milk, juice and coffee waiting for us as well as a fully equipped kitchen. We had a great time relaxing and look forward to going back.

Christmas Visit 2010

4,2 sur décembre 30, 2010

We visited Kingston over Christmas with family, and wanted a place that allowed us easy access to the waterfront area and the option of cooking our own meals. The Rondout Inn was very accommodating, and the owners are very friendly. The apartment we stayed in is very cozy and comfortable, and the kitchen is well-appointed. We didn't end up cooking there too much after all, but the full-size refrigerator was very helpful for brining the Christmas goose for 24 hours prior to cooking it. The only real downside of the apartment is the size of the shower. The shower is a utility shower that is so narrow as to make showering unpleasant. The shower doesn't fit the apartment at all, and should really be replaced. But overall, it's a great location and a great getaway apartment, with a full and quite nicely appointed kitchen.

Rondout Inn

3,6 sur novembre 14, 2010

Very nice accommodations. Roomy, well equipped and comfortable. No hassles and friendly owners. Weekends are quiet but weekday morning traffic can be a bit noisy. Convenient Rondout location.

Great Getaway

4,4 sur août 13, 2010

Great place. Our apartment suite was very comfortable. The location is super convenient to restaurants and the waterfront. Able to have a few drinks and just walk back the inn. Our hosts BC and Larry were really helpful. They know the lay of the land and all the best places. Because the inn is situated over a real nice antique shop, I was able to surprise my wife with a great piece of vintage jewelry, that she had her eye on, when I returned home..definitely will return to the Rondout Inn.

Rondout Inn


  • Prix par nuit $149 - $295
  • Avis (45) 4,3
  • Chambres 4


  • Téléphone 1-8453992902

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut check