Avis récents dans New Market, Virginie

A lovely B&B and a peaceful getaway à Rosendale Inn Bed and Breakfast (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 21, 2017

Staying at the Rosendale Inn with Dr. Paul Murphy was relaxing and peaceful. Paul is extremely welcoming and hospitable and his breakfast is delicious! We stayed in the separate cottage and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and the relaxing fire. The home's history is fascinating and there a number of interesting items in the museum. We would definitely recommend staying at Rosendale and will likely return for the warmer weather in the Spring! Thanks for everything!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful Getwaway à Rosendale Inn Bed and Breakfast (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 21, 2017

Paul is a wonderful host, ready with a story from his amazing background, and he and his mother prepare a warm gourmet breakfast. We met lots of interesting folks around the breakfast table. The room was spotless, as was the bathroom. The decor is beautiful and the beds and pillows were comfortable. The location is perfect. We spent one day at Cave Ridge Vineyards for the Taste of Shenandoah. Another guest spent the day caving at the many surrounding caves. Others went to an apple orchard. Great place! Thanks Paul.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Rosendale Inn à Rosendale Inn Bed and Breakfast (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le mai 12, 2017

This place is awesome! Dr. Murphy is a wonderful host and very knowledgeable on the history of the area and what it has to offer. The grounds and surrounding area are breathtaking. I am looking forward to the next visit and would highly recommend this location to everyone! Robert Holmes O Fallon IL

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Delightful secluded inn with wonderful innkeeper à Rosendale Inn Bed and Breakfast (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le mars 11, 2017

This is a beautifully secluded location with a grand view of the mountains near Endless Caverns. The inn itself has a log cabin section dating from 1801 and a later 1800's addition that has huge character. Innkeeper Paul is a wonderfully multi-faceted person, so make sure and discuss his background and see his library. Quite a treat. The grounds are just lovely, with singing Chickadees, Finches, Wrens, and Juncos waking us with their songs in the morning. Short drive into historic New Market for shopping, coffee and food. Paul's breakfast of fresh fruit and French Toast was perhaps the best B&B breakfast I've had. There was just too much food! Charming place that we will visit again. Thumbs up.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


My favorite place on Earth à Rosendale Inn Bed and Breakfast (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le mars 08, 2017

I would like to share with you my impressions of my terrific journey into the world of history. When you cross the threshold of this house, you immediately move to another epoch. The Inn seems to breathe history, each Suite is unique and it has its own individual design and its name. Everything is almost as it was with the former inhabitants of the house. Here lived people who had family ties with US President Woodrow Wilson. But to get acquainted with the history of the house you will help by the owner of the Inn Dr. Paul Murphy who knows the history of this house very well, he writes a book about it. Also you will see a museum of history where are a lot of original materials and pictures, collected with the help of the second co-owner of the Inn, Juanita Miller, who had been doing business for many years before Paul Murphy have bought this Inn. By the way, there is one moment that was very pleasant to me, Paul speaks excellent Russian. He worked many years in Russia and also he learnt Russian at Moscow State University. I assure you, you will have many interesting conversations about different items. Just 7 minutes walking you can see unique Endless Caverns, swimming in the pool and just enjoy the beautiful nature of the mountains. Clean, fresh mountain air and silence around. For fishing enthusiasts, this is a great place to do it. I enjoyed, looking at wild animals which are a lot of here. I saw a family of deers and different small animals and birds. You can make a bike trip around the neighborhood. And also ride a scooter. If you come here with your horses, Paul has an excellent stable for this. Near the Inn there is a small town New Market, where there is an unique open-air Civil War museum. You will move to the time of the wonderful movie "Gone with the Wind" with Vivien Leigh and Clark Gamble. Here I spend my holidays every year, because I am finding for myself Peace and Tranquility and studying the history of these places.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


The Perfect B&B Getaway à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 06, 2015

What an amazing property. You have an entire cottage to yourself as you are the only guests! Inside there are many rooms to hang out in. A full refrigerator and kitchen if you would like to cook, or bring food. You can even barbecue! Off the main bedroom is an incredible screened in porch that overlooks the Shenandoah River, it's spectacular. A quiet and and peaceful location. The bed was so comfortable and since we visited in September, we slept with the windows opened. Robin and Dave are the best hosts. Want to visit and talk, great. Want privacy, you can have that instead. Robin cooks an amazing breakfast each morning, delivered right to your table inside the kitchen, or outside on the patio. Don't worry if you forgot your toothpaste, Robin has filled the cottage with anything you may have left behind. The location in New Market is perfect. There are easily a dozen different day trips within driving distance. If you want to stay in, that is fun too, lots of historical reading material to look through. We enjoyed watching the history of the Town of New Market on a DVD located in the TV room. We found a new favorite B&B. We have already booked our next trip. Can't wait to return. We highly recommend you give Jacob Swatrz House a try, you'll be very pleased.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Two wonderful visits à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le janvier 27, 2014

We have stayed here twice in one year and found each visit an absolute delight. The cottage is well furnished and both times we enjoyed a relaxing evening by the fire. Our breakfasts were different all four times and prepared with a true love of providing her guest a fantastic start to their day. Virginia is a gifted inn keeper and she will do all to make your stay a very memorable one.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


once you experience this place you will want to return again and again à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 01, 2013

we have been coming here for many years, Virginia becomes like family very quickly and treats you like such. Everything about this place is relaxing from the quietness of the river to the singing of the birds and the sounds of the forest that surround you, everything you need is already there, the only thing missing is you, treat yourself to great breakfast and a nice little town to explore. We fell in love with this place the first time we were there, you will too.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Tranquil Oasis! à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 09, 2013

From start to finish, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Jacob Swartz House! Virginia greeted us when we arrived with welcoming cheer. The cottage is all your and it is stocked with anything you might need. Milk, cream, condiments, spices, tea, coffee, etc. in the kitchen, and soap, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, curling iron, insect repellant, after-sunburn cream, otc meds, etc. in the bathroom. Upon arrival we found a chocolate cake waiting for us in the kitchen! Virginia also prepared a dessert for us on the second evening we were there! Weather permitting, you can have breakfast outside on the patio and watch the birds at the feeders. Virginia prepares the breakfast in courses and brings it from her house to the cottage. Simply delicious!!! She caters to your needs, whatever they are. We spent lots of time in the screened room off the bedroom that looks down over the river. You can walk the grounds and look at the plantings or climb down to the river for a closer look. BTW: another reviewer mentioned the constant noise from Rt. 81. It's not Rt 81 that creates the noise; it's the flowing river, which is not very loud. You are out in the country and it's peaceful and serene. JSH is an excellent value with a five star rating from me!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Delightfully relaxing! à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le août 18, 2013

The Cobbler's cottage was delightful, so peaceful sitting in sun room overlooking the Shenendoach River. Hostess made us feel so welcome and so attentive to dietary needs - yummy goodies and breakfasts

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Unexpected à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

4,4 Dernier avis le janvier 10, 2013

Superb simplicity. Beautiful setting,once you get past the maintenance shop, unique interface with nature's beauty and accommodating Innkeeper. Will definitely return this Spring.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Almost perfect à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 25, 2012

From the moment of arrival until the moment of departure you will feel like a treasured guest of this remarkable proprietor. The guest house is literally a home away from home as it contains everything one needs. For example upon arrival we found not only a delicious cranberry pound cake but a fridge stocked with items like farm fresh milk and apple cider. The screened porch, the sun room and the master bedroom have a beautiful view of the river and one goes to sleep looking at the stars through the skylights and wakes to a sun rise view right from the bed. The outstanding stone patio is perfect for enjoying the outdoors and sitting by a fire. The only disappointment for me was the continuous roar of traffic emanating thru the trees from Interstate 81 that began at dusk and continued until dawn. If one can overlook that then this is an unprecedented experience

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


At the End of the Narrow Lane à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

4,0 Dernier avis le août 04, 2012

At the end of the narrow lane awaited our hostess who ushered us to our country cottage for 3 days. The cottage had much to offer -- sun porch, screened porch, kitchen, dining area, living room with a fireplace, 2 well-decorated bedrooms, and more. Breakfasts were a delight. Our hostess thought of everything.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Travels of the Sizzling Sisters à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le février 27, 2012

Our own little "home" -- screened in porch, surrounded by trees, bird feeders, flowers. Virginia brought the delicious breakfast to our "home"! This B&B is a wonderful experience!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


hidden gem à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

4,0 Dernier avis le août 22, 2011

Traveling with a 3 month old, regular B&Bs were out of the question. This super charming, incredibly peaceful house at the end of a long road, between a corn field and the river, was exactly what we needed.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Get Away From It All! à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

4,6 Dernier avis le juin 24, 2011

This is the perfect spot to escape the hustle and bustle. You'll enjoy listening to song birds and the rushing water of the Shenandoah River. The house is spacious and well decorated with many amenities in the bathrooms. Off of the ground floor bedroom is a screen porch which we enjoyed during an afternoon thunderstorm and later that night we listened to rain on the overhead skylights above our bed as we drifted off to sleep. Virginia is a gracious hostess and excellent cook. The generous breakfasts are of superb quality. One sunny morning we enjoyed ours on the lovely stone terrace, enjoying the view of the colorful flower garden.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


We'll be back à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le mars 27, 2011

We have stayed here twice and plan to return as often as wek can. The setting is beautiful, the food is wonderful, and the owner has clearly put a lot of thought into making the experience memorable.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


RELAXING AND GREAT HOSPITALITY à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le février 20, 2011

The Jacob Swartz House is an excellent get-away for anyone. The Bed and Breakfast is so clean, cozy and tidy. It is very spacious and provides everything you would need from toiletries to board games to condiments and books. Virginia is very helpful and kind. She welcomed us with chocolate mousse dessert and left us with homemade apple crisp pie. Her breakfasts were delicious and served to us. The views are amazing - we watched the sun rise from our bed and the moon rise above the mountains. There is plenty to do within driving distance. We went to a local sports pub restaurant one night and to Sonny's for their famous BBQ pit ribs. We also visited the Luray Caverns which are close by and the Shenandoah wine trail with free wine tasting. We are a young couple from D.C. who needed time to unwind and reconnect with nature. This was the perfect trip and highly recommended to anyone! Plenty of room for families with 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths and a roll out bed. Has an outside grill, an electric fireplace in the master and a real fireplace which was great at night. Also a screened in porch right outside the master which looks over the river and valley.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Best B&B I've ever been to! à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 04, 2010

This place is beyond a B&B! My sister and I stayed here for 3 days/nights in late October-early Nov 2010. We were very pleasantly surprised at the coziness of the cottage, the roominess, the cleanliness, the stocked pantry, the amenities too many to list here! Virginia is a MOST gracious host, bringing wonderful breakfasts every morning, and delicious desserts every afternoon. She pointed out things to do in the area, and the books on the area are everywhere in the cottage. There is a TV room with local TV and a DVD player if you get bored ( we didn't!). Birds were abundant at the feeders, and I heard a kingfisher on the river below. If I stayed here again (and I hope I get the chance!), I would bring some food for dinner and enjoy the evenings on the patio. What a find!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Slice of Heaven à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 30, 2010

The Jacob Swartz House is one of the most beautiful properties I've ever seen. The quest cottage is full of charm and inviting corners to put up your feet and slow down a minute. Virginia's cooking is outstanding, and her welcome is the extreme of warm and inviting without being intrusive to your stay. If there is anything in the area you're searching to do, she'll hook you up with the where and when of it. This was my first stay in a Bed and Breakfast and I'm afraid it'll never be beat. At least 10x's the value of any 5 star hotel suite stay and definitely easier on the budget. I've been gushing about it to anyone who'll listen!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great B&B à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le août 30, 2010

Great place to escape from every day noise. Breakfast is the best, with a variety of places in and out of the cottage to enjoy your morning meal. The accommodations are cozy and being right on the river allows for quick access for swimming and great fishing. Highly recommend.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great Weekend Getaway! à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

4,2 Dernier avis le mars 02, 2009

We went to the Jacob Swartz House to use a gift certificate that we had from this web site. The accomodations were excellent, and we were pleasently suprised by the size of the property. Both bedrooms were nicely equipped, and we particularly enjoyed the skylights and electric fireplace in the master bedroom. The bathrooms were nice, and it was nice to have two to use at the same time. The fireplace in the living room was not only fun to use, but it heated the rooms nicely as well. Virginia's hospitality was nice and her breakfasts and desserts were excellent. We loved our stay overall, and would like to return sometime in the summer for another visit! - The Ashbrooks

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A wonderful time in Obama Country! à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

4,6 Dernier avis le novembre 21, 2008

A fantastic 3 days spent in a beautiful location by the Shenandoah River. Couldn't have been better looked after-superb breakfasts (and desserts!) brought to our separate cottage. Bliss!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Just Perfect à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 27, 2008

Everything about the Jacob Swartz House was really just perfect. We loved the country setting and Virginia's breakfasts were spectacular, so were the desserts. Her warmth and friendliness came through and made us feel special. We couldn't have asked for more.... Also, we loved being the only guests! Patty and Kevin McLain

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Double Blessed à Jacob Swartz House (New Market, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 15, 2008

Not only was I blessed to be albe to stay at a homesite of an ancestor, but I was also blessed to stay in a beautiful B&B overlooking Shenandoah River but the hostess was so talented in decorateing and in her cooking.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Les B&B les mieux notés

  1. Rosendale Inn Bed and Breakfast (5)
  2. Jacob Swartz House (4,74)
Haut
check }