Volcano Rainforest Retreat Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas sur place3,8

Notation basée sur
32 Avis

Ecrire un avis

The best B&B we have been ! Ever.

5 sur décembre 22, 2017

This is THE place to stay if you plan on visiting volcano. We really enjoyed our tree night stay and I sincerely think that it was one of our highlight in Hawaii. It was clean, very relaxing and beautifully decorated. Thanks !

Réponse du propriétaire
This is a fantastic review! To hear that we were the best B&B you have been ever, is quite a compliment! We are so thrilled that you were able to be here for three nights and that our retreat was one of your Hawaii vacation highlights. We often tell guests that we are the perfect location for adventuring to see the lava flow and crater as well as the beaches and waterfalls. Our location is so unique that after a busy day of exploring you get to come back and relax in the privacy of your cottage under the canopy of a true Hawaiian rainforest. We welcome you back anytime, From all of us here at Volcano Rainforest Retreat

- Jenny (innkeeper)


Serenity in the rain forest

4,0 sur décembre 21, 2017

An exquisite, peaceful and secluded cabin. Simply the best place we have ever stayed.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you! We are glad you had a peaceful stay with us. Please come back and visit us again when you are in Hawaii. From all of us here at Volcano Rainforest Retreat

- Jenny (innkeeper)


Tropical headquarters for Kilauea and beyond

5 sur décembre 19, 2017

Stayed 5 nights in the Bamboo Guest House. The cottage is architecturally beautiful, spacious, and comfortable for a couple. Each day the cottage was supplied with delicious fresh local fruit and other supplies for the next day’s breakfast. The hosts are helpful while respecting the guests’ privacy. The Volcano Rainforest Retreat serves as the ideal base for exploring the Hawai’i Volcanoes National Park, local beaches, and day trips to Hilo.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our guests who stay 3 nights or longer often tell us that they are so happy that they did because it gives them enough time to truly relax and yet also adventure out onto the island without feeling rushed to explore all that the Big Island has to offer. We love to hear that our guests enjoy their cottage and the fresh breakfast that we provide. We do our best to make each guest experience memorable. We certainly welcome you folks back anytime! Much aloha and many blessings for 2018, All of us here at Volcano Rainforest Retreat

- Jenny (innkeeper)


wonderful anniversary

4,4 sur décembre 15, 2017

This was one of the best, relaxing places we have ever stayed. We loved the outdoor tub. The bed was great and the rainforest view was so beautiful. The details in the property we so fun. Jenny and Kathleen were wonderful. The 3 days of pouring rain was not even that bad with such a nice place to stay. Hope to come back for our 50th anniversary!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your kind review. Congratulations on your anniversary and we would love to have you come back for your 50th! Glad to hear you enjoyed the outdoor soaking tub and found time to come and relax in the Hawaiian rainforest. We really enjoyed connecting with you and look forward to seeing again in the future. With warm aloha and many blessings for 2018, All of us here at Volcano Rainforest Retreat

- Jenny (innkeeper)


A Perfect Hideaway

5 sur novembre 13, 2017

The Volcano Rainforest Retreat offers beautifully crafted and perfectly appointed cottages tucked away in a tropical paradise. Complete with every luxury and including a splendid array of Hawaiian fruits and other delights, the Rainforest Retreat provides a memorable and unique experience. And the proximity to Volcanoes National Park makes it a perfect choice for visitors to that fascinating natural wonder.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your kind and very descriptive review! We love having guests that tune into all the special touches that we include here to enhance each experience and make it as memorable as possible. We are glad you found us and were able to conveniently explore the Volcanoes National Park, as it is such amazing place! We welcome you back anytime! From all of us here at Volcano Rainforest Retreat

- Jenny (innkeeper)


Lovely and peaceful place to stay in Volcano

4,4 sur novembre 11, 2017

We loved our stay at this beautiful retreat. Very peaceful and gorgeous.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for kind review! We are so happy to hear you loved your stay with us! We welcome you back anytime. Warmest Wishes, From all of us here at Volcano Rainforest Retreat

- Jenny (innkeeper)


Volcano Rainforest Retreat

4,2 sur novembre 08, 2017

The stay was more than I could have imaged. I rated the Onsite Dining as unsatisfactory BC there was no onsite Dining..complementary breakfast snacks was provided but fruit was not fresh and only 1 bagel for a guest of two.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for letting us know that your stay was more than you could of imagined. We hear that the onsite dining and the food we did provide could have been more satisfactory for you. Thank you letting us know what could of made your stay better. As a Bed and Breakfast with four guest cottages we offer our breakfast in the privacy of your cottage. We often find that our guests enjoy privacy and having breakfast in their own timing. We do provide a selection of baked goods including scones, bagels, muffins and croissants. Guests who stay more than one night are provided a menu with choices for their next mornings breakfast and can select the items and quantity that they prefer. In addition to baked goods and fresh fruit, we provide in all of our cottages a selection which includes homemade granola, local Hawaiian honey, Kona coffee, tea, orange juice, eggs or quiche, cream cheese, butter, milk, half and half, and some non-dairy choices. With advance notice we also do our best to offer gluten free and vegan options. Our standard breakfast for our guests' first night stay includes a variety of 3 baked goods and fresh fruit in addition to the other items just mentioned. We do regret that any of the fruit we provided for you was less than fresh. We will remind our housekeepers to give special attention to the freshness of the fruit for our guests' breakfast enjoyment. Please know that we make every effort to source fresh fruit from our local farmer's market. Please come again when you're on the Big Island.

- Kathleen, Owner (innkeeper)


Cute cottage in a Volcano!!

5 sur octobre 16, 2017

The most charming cottage ever. The staff is so pleasant and accomodating. The town of Volcano is interesting. The National Park is amazing and so different!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. Glad to hear you found the cottage charming as we put a lot of time and energy into making them cozy and charming. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their time in Volcano! (It is such a unique little town) Aloha from all of us here at VRR

- Jenny (innkeeper)


Honeymoon stay

4,6 sur octobre 16, 2017

VRR was a wonderful place to end our honeymoon! The cabins are secluded and personal. The grounds are beautiful. You feel like you have your own pieces of rainforest. The whole team at VRR made our stay easy and welcoming. The cottage was clean and well stocked - and our breakfast was fresh and delicious. Would definitely recommend. A++

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for such a great review! We are so delighted to hear that you got to enjoy some of your honeymoon with us. We welcome you back anytime. Much Aloha from all of us here at VRR!

- Jenny (innkeeper)


Best thing we did in Big Island

4,6 sur octobre 12, 2017

It was best experience . hosts are very friendly . should have spend more time if we could.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for your kind review! We wish you could of stayed longer as well!! You're welcome back anytime. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Aloha from all of us here at Volcano Rainforest Retreat

- Jenny (innkeeper)


Wonderful, quiet getaway in a rainforest cottage!

4,8 sur octobre 02, 2017

We enjoyed our two-night stay at the Volcano Rainforest Retreat. We stayed in the Guest Cottage and loved the space, quiet and romantic ambiance.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the Guest Cottage and hope that you will visit us again soon. Mahalo, Jenny Gayle Manager

- Jenny (innkeeper)


September Honeymoon stay at Volcano rainforest

4,6 sur septembre 18, 2017

2 nights stay 1st-2nd Seotember 2017, amazing break from reality that recovers your peace of mind, recommended for everyone who tries to escape for few days from the rush world ;)

Réponse du propriétaire
We are so glad you were able to take a break from reality and have some peace in the rainforest. Thank you for recommending Volcano Rainforest Retreat and leaving us such a nice review. We invite you to visit us again soon:)) Mahalo, Jenny Gayle, Manager

- Jenny Gayle (innkeeper)


Highly recommended.

4,8 sur septembre 12, 2017

We had a wonderful stay in the Guest Cottage in August. The rainforest setting, the privacy and natural surroundings enhance the beautifully furnished, spacious wooden cottage. Our every need was thoughtfully catered for, and fresh breakfast was brought each evening for us to eat when we wanted. The food was beautiful, fresh and healthy, and the décor, equipment and furnishings all mindfully placed. Cleaning and care were to a high standard. Such a lovely visit, thank you!

Réponse du propriétaire
Aloha, Thank you for such a kind review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Guest Cottage. We try to think of our guests' every need and cater to them, so we are happy to see that you were satisfied with your stay. We appreciate you sharing with others about your wonderful stay and pleasant words about our food, decor, furnishings and much much more! Mahalo! We welcome you to come back and stay with us here in the rainforest any time! -Emma Nieder, Manager

- Emma, Manager (innkeeper)


Amazing Experience!!

4,6 sur juin 26, 2017

This place is amazing! Would 100% recommend staying here. Everyone gets an individual Japanese style cottage. It's very spacious and flooded with natural light. You have total privacy from your neighbor even though they are only 50-100 feet away. Most cottages have a Japanese soaking bath which was perfect after long hikes. It's only a 5 minute drive to Volcano Village. The owner was super friendly and responsive. Breakfast was brought to you the day before and you made it in your kitchenette

Réponse du propriétaire
Mahalo for your kind (and informative!) review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you visit us again soon! Aloha,

- Emma (innkeeper)


Highlight of our Vacation

5 sur mai 18, 2017

A truly wonderful place. We will never forget our stay here. A very unique experience. Thank you Peter.

Réponse du propriétaire
Aloha, Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Please come back and visit us soon! Mahalo, Emma Kathleen & Peter Golden, Owners

- Emma, manager (innkeeper)


Wonderful

4,6 sur mai 08, 2017

We will always remember our stay here. It was absolutely unique

Réponse du propriétaire
Aloha, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you were able to create some wonderful memories here that will last you a lifetime! Do please come back and see us soon :) Mahalo, Emma Kathleen & Peter Golden, owners

- Emma (innkeeper)


retreat among the ferns

5 sur février 16, 2017

Volcano Rainforest Retreat was everything I'd hoped it would be. Kathleen's orientation to the property, the house we were staying in, and the local area was very thorough. What a joy to wake to lush tree ferns outside the windows. The morning bird song ('apapane and doves, among others) was incredible. Except for the occasional barking of neighbor dogs, it felt very secluded, even though the property is not terribly large. I love the winding gravel paths. Breakfast (fruit, granola, milk options, baked goods) was provided the day before, so we could eat at our leisure in our room. The Kalij pheasants wandering the property were a pleasant surprise, too. So tranquil, yet only a short drive to Volcano village and to the National Park. I didn't want to leave!


Haven in Hawaii

4,6 sur février 29, 2016

Thoughtful touches everywhere! Quiet, lush beauty, symphony of crickets and birds, close to National Park. Loved the museum quality Volcano Art Gallery in the park. Enjoyed the simple clean food at Ohelo Cafe. Cafe Ono is also a must see especially for gifts of local artists. Lovely haven in Hawaii!


first B&B stay

4,2 sur décembre 23, 2015

The rainforest retreat is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The cottages are beautiful well stocked with everything you need and the grounds are immaculate and set up so you feel you are the only ones there. We would not hesitate to stay here again and again


Hawaiian Atmosphere

4,2 sur novembre 28, 2015

Beautiful setting in the rainforest minutes from Volcano National Park. The breakfast food was adequate and cooking facilities available in the cottage. It was a lovely place to stay after full days of sightseeing. We would recommend highly.


I felt like a wood nymph

3,6 sur mai 19, 2015

We stayed in the Sanctuary and the Forest House and both were cozy and reclusive. The outdoor shower and Japanese bath is a unique and romantic experience with the Sanctuary and the Forest House was just that little bit more comfortable, yet a bit louder as the rains fell above our head on the skylight. What you see in the photos are exactly what you get and being surrounded by giant ferns, palms and flowers we never saw another guest.


Seven Stars!

5 sur mai 17, 2015

If I could give 7 stars, I would. This place is the most romantic place ever. We stayed in the Sanctuary. Private ofuro and outdoor shower - enchanting. Sleeping surrounded by windows to the rainforest - magical. Fresh papaya every morning - delightful! My husband and I believe the best things come in small packages, and we pack light. Word to the wise - if you measure luxury in square footage and can't do without a mammoth suitcase, you will absolutely have to choose one of the larger cottages. Also, the name "rainforest retreat" is literal - this is in a rainforest, which means it will be raining, almost all the time. Love, love, loved it!!


A perfect experience!

4,0 sur mai 07, 2015

So beautiful, peaceful and comfortable -we hardly wanted to leave to see the sights! Great local info, cosy fireplace, delicious tea and breakfasts, comfy bed, everything you could possibly need! Look no further, book VRR!!


Beautiful setting, overall letdown

2,8 sur mars 29, 2015

We had looked forward to this portion of our stay on the big island, but within moments of landing in what should have been peaceful paradise, it became apparent the location is among residential property. I took mostly pictures, in videos you could hear dogs barking behind the property every moment we were at the retreat. Unfortunately, we had to leave the property to find any quiet. We spent our time in the Volcano park hiking and sightseeing. All night, without break two dogs barked back and forth to each other, which provided very little sleep. The cabin and grounds were breath taking, but certainly not peaceful.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are sorry for your strong disappointment knowing that you were looking forward to a peaceful stay in paradise. We, as the owners, and the whole staff, regret that you were so disturbed by certain dogs, which live with neighbors on land near our residence. We certainly want you and other guests to experience moments of the peace, quiet and serenity in the Hawaiian rain forest. We can understand your desire for peace and rest. We have also had concerns about the dogs, especially when people are needing rest and a good night's sleep. We have been attempting to work with the neighbors to find ways to meet the dogs' needs and respect the nearby neighbors and B & B guests. Unfortunately, this family has been under stress recently due to the illness and death of the father. The barking was particularly disturbing at the time of your visit and has thankfully been less of an issue recently. The owner will be around to spend time with her disabled adult daughter and attend to the dogs barking next week. We look forward to the quality of rest and quiet we usually enjoy. Please know that the Volcano Rainforest Retreat is in a rural area, adjacent to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the closest residential area to the park. The Volcano community has a number of locally-run bed and breakfasts and inns, all in residential areas. The local residents in Volcano truly enjoy hosting travelers in their homes and vacation rentals. The Volcano area is a gateway community to the National Park. healing quality of nature. Again we are sorry for your level of distress and if you would want a refund, let us know and we will arrange that for you. Thank you for acknowledging the breathing beauty of the cottage and grounds.

- Kathleen and Peter Golden (innkeepers)


Perfection

5 sur février 26, 2015

The only disappointing thing about The Volcano Rainforest Retreat was that we couldn't stay longer. We stayed in the Guest Cottage and it was absolutely perfect for us. Being surrounded by the rainforest and seeing it through every window was beyond amazing. Cannot say enough about this place. We loved it! I


A Slice of Paradise

5 sur avril 13, 2013

A Slice of Paradise, We spent part of our spring break at the bamboo guest house. It was a wonderful experience! The guest house was unique and comfortable. Our hosts were gracious. We loved the setting in the rainforest (and yes, it did rain a little, but it made the atmosphere only more enchanting). We were enthralled by the natural beauty of the resort and the art and sculptures (by local artists) that adorned it. A place to come back to.


Sanctuary!

5 sur octobre 11, 2011

Kathleen and Peter have created a warm and beautiful sanctuary to our very busy and cold NYC life. It was truly wonderful to be surrounded by a naturally lush environment hosted by people who share very similar peaceful views. It was very convenient to have our food left in our kitchen so we can eat at any time, the privacy was A+, the cottage decor made us feel at home, the bed was cush and warm, the hot tub was very relaxing, and we were so excited to see Samadhi cushions and yoga mats! And after Kathleen's wonderful Reiki sessions, my husband and I left relaxed and with a renewed awareness. The Goldens should expect to us again soon!!


Amazing

4,6 sur octobre 22, 2010

I booked this place for my mother and I for just 2 nights. By the time it was time to go, we didn't want to leave! The house is gorgeous, decorated with fresh cut orchids, ferns and antherium and various items that the owners had collected through the years. The location is ideal; you think you are miles away from anything or anyone, secluded in the rain forrest; however you are less than 100 feet from the next house and office and only a few minutes from Volcano and Volcanoes National Park. It is so very quiet here, during the day the only sound you can hear is your own breathing and heart beat, at night there is a soft chorus of indigenous frogs (NOT the coquee, yay!). In the morning you have an assortment of fresh local fruits, eggs and baked items that Kathleen and Peter leave the day before to prepare breakfast; what a great start to the day! My favorite part was waking up with the sun, sitting on the front lanai in the chill air, drink my Kona coffee (provided) and use the free WiFi to check/update stuff online. Definitely worth the price; I will most certainly stay here again! Thank you Peter and Kathleen!!


Natural Peaceful Delight

5 sur octobre 19, 2010

Spent three peaceful nights at the Volcano Rainforest Retreat celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Slept soundly each night being serenaded by frogs after a calming magical soak in the outdoor hot tub. Lovely basket of muffins, bagels, fresh local fruit and hard boiled eggs left in our room each day made for a delightful breakfast. The grounds were beautiful and Kathleen and Peter have only improved upon this wonderful natural setting. During the cold winter months in Boston we will cherish the memories of the "peace" of this place.


For a Sense of Peace,Tranquility & Spirituality

4,2 sur octobre 19, 2010

We truly appreciated the therapeutic benefits of a Japanese ofuro, the perfect overall design of the bamboo cottage, every minute detail which paid homage to the rain forest and respect for its guests.


Relaxing retreat in paradise

4,6 sur octobre 10, 2010

The innkeepers have paid every attention to detail here. Beautifully designed and decorated, the Bamboo Guest House was spacious, yet cozy and private. Works of local art adorn every nook, and I could spend days exploring the interesting books and CDs provided. A wonderful feature is the private Japanese-style soaking tub, which is secluded by the lush tropical vegetation surrounding the guesthouse, and deliciously hot! The privacy of this cottage makes it worth the additional cost. We felt utterly relaxed during our stay, and were sorry to leave!


Met My Expectations

3,0 sur septembre 28, 2010

This is a beautiful spot, with a very friendly owner/host who has put a lot of thought into the place. Very cozy and well thought-out space. That said, it met my expectations for the cost, and the service exceeded my expectations. Host helped provide good tips on navigating volcano village and national park. The breakfast food could be a little fresher. It's probably difficult to figure out how to get fresh food to people without bugging them in the morning though! However, it'd sure be nice to have fresher baked goods. All in all, I'd recommend this place, although I think I'll probably camp in the national park next time.


Volcano Rainforest Retreat

Détails

Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8089858696
  • Fax 1-8089858696
  • Portable 1-8083453477
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8005508696

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut check