Avis récents dans Darien, Géorgie

You Must Stay Here! à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le août 20, 2017

We had such a wonderful stay...our only regret was we did not have more days to enjoy there. We stayed in The Island Room, on the first floor of the inn. Very spacious and beautiful, with a private bath, and doors opening right into the library. We spent our night there sipping wine and eating chocolates with our computers at the library table, with the doors to our room open. Just fabulous! The breakfast was delicious. A cut fruit plate with delicate fruit pinwheel pastries, followed by marscapone stuffed crepes with the best bacon I ever had drizzled with caramel and accompanied by whipped cream. We enjoyed the company of the other guests, and Chef Zach as well as Carrie May were both so kind and thoughtful. Don't hesitate to stay here. It was like staying in a friend's lovely old house. Thanks Zach and Carrie May!!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


What A Place! à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

4,4 Dernier avis le juin 26, 2017

First trip to to Open Gates B & B in Darien. I will be back for future visits. The hospitality and accommodations were spectacular. I was greeted and shown around the grounds upon arrival by Zach. I stayed a total of five nights and had a very pleasant stay. The breakfast menus changed for each day. All I can say "They were amazing". Zach goes out of his way to make your stay pleasant and the start of you day on the right note. Thank you again Zach it was a pleasure to stay at Open Gates B&B.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Our favorite stop on each trip to FL à Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

5 Dernier avis le juin 15, 2017

We love the ambience of the inn, the warm welcome of the innkeepers, the close proximity to good food, wine, shopping. We stop here every trip to FL, since it is about half way. Discovered the Darien Waterfront Inn several years ago and look forward to each visit. Highly recommend it!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Quaint and Unexpected à Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4,6 Dernier avis le juin 11, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay - the rooms were clean and neat with comfortable beds. We enjoyed chatting with other guests with a glass of wine on the porch. The Innkeepers were great and served a yummy breakfast. Darien is a cute little town - off the beaten path type of place that we really enjoyed exploring.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A Lowcountry Jewel à Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

5 Dernier avis le mai 31, 2017

We have stayed with Jo Ann multiple times going back to her opening. The Darien area is a jewel of the low country with a people and a heritage that puts you back in a simpler time. The Inn's deck is huge and overlooks a river. The deck is shadowed by two large sails that make it the perfect place to enjoy a nap, a good book, good conversation, or a cool drink. Each room is differently decorated but all are wonderful and immaculately clean. The Continental breakfast is second only to the great time you'll have talking with Jo Ann and the other guests. Nearby restaurants and the wine bar are great as well. The Darien Waterfront Inn is a bed and breakfast where you will feel at home but pampered, welcome at anytime, but never pressured to fit a schedule. We'll see you there.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Get-Away Weekend à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le avril 24, 2017

We just stayed one night! Bedroom was great, quiet and very restful! Owners were very pleasant and friendly! Breakfast was supberb!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great stay in Darien at Open Gates !! à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

3,8 Dernier avis le mars 20, 2017

Lovely B&B and felt very welcome by Zach. Pleasant short walk to town and restaurants. Room was comfortable and roomy with extra seating. Zach fixed a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, ham, crepes, and special cinnamon buns. Just a great experience!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great place to stay and enjoy the lovely city of Darien, Ga à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le mars 11, 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Open Gates B & B for 4 nights last week. It is a charming place on the main square (acutally a circle) The food was outstanding, the best B &B breakfast I've ever had.. I'd say the best breakfast anywhere that I've had. Zack was welcoming and very willing to adapt to dietary preferences. We canoed, bicyced and just rested. The perfect restful vacation.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Best place to stay in Darien à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

4,0 Dernier avis le février 13, 2017

Darien, GA is such a small place, it is hard to stay somewhere that's in walking distance to "everything", but not in the middle of everything. Open Gates was far enough from the little restaurant area to be very quiet and private, but close enough to walk there in less than 5 minutes. The house is in good shape. The people are very nice. The food was great. If you know you want to get away, but still have access to the middle of town, this is perfect. The owners are extremely amenable and helpful. My wife and I plan to return to Open Gates in the Fall.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Southern charm and hospitality at its finest! à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

4,0 Dernier avis le novembre 20, 2016

I would have given 5 stars but the website did not allow me to click the 5th circle for some odd reason. We were greeted very warmly as soon as we pulled up to this lovely Inn by the owner and top notch chef, Zach. We knew right away that we were in the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary! Zach could not have been more helpful. He helped up with planning our bike ride around town, the places we should visit and perhaps even, not visit. His input was invaluable. The Inn was so warm and charming, we went to four towns on our anniversary road trip and Open Gates was our favorite! The room was immaculate and oh so comfy, the breakfast was absolutely top notch. We wished we could have had breakfast every morning from Open Gates. Darien was charming as well. A quaint little fishing village with a wonderful home town feel. We felt very safe and comfortable there. We will definitely be back to Darien and to Open Gates! (note, we had the crepes, featured in the photo, they looked just like the photo and were so delicious!!)

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Beautiful accommodations, wonderful breakfast and warm/relaxing environment à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

4,8 Dernier avis le novembre 14, 2016

We were welcomed and made comfortable even though we arrived late. We had a great night's sleep with comfortable bed and linens and then served a wonderful breakfast. You can see & feel the care that Zack & Carrie put into this bed & breakfast. Wonderful.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Darling Darien à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le janvier 01, 2016

Go for the food and stay for the ambience. Clean, neat and historic, Open Gate B and B is everything you hope for and nothing that that you fear. The thing that sets it apart, though, is the owners Zack and Carrie. Their laid-back style is augmented with an attention to personal service and memorable meals. They were responsive to requests and never failed to delight, from award-winning crepes to specialty items. Zack's years as a chef on private mega-yachts shows in the presentation and creativity as well as in the taste. We will be back.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


SHORT BUT ENJOYABLE STAY à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le décembre 18, 2015

Zack met us warmly at the front door upon our arrival and acclimated us to the area. He gave us great local information and invited us to join locals at Fort King George event the same evening. The B&B is charming, nice location with very comfortable rooms. Zack made us feel at home and his famous breakfast crepe were a great presentation and delicious. We highly recommend Open Gate and will revisit next time we are in the area.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great Place to Stay à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

4,8 Dernier avis le octobre 14, 2015

We enjoyed the great gourmet breakfasts and the ideas about the area from Zach and his wife. A special place.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Scrumptious breakfast, lovely, quiet setting à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

4,6 Dernier avis le octobre 11, 2015

Quiet setting in small town, convenient to Jekyll and Sappello Islands. Great breakfasts. House and grounds are spacious, even has an outdoor pool and patio!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Can't wait to go back! à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le août 18, 2015

We were coming by boat to Darien from Savannah for one night. We had been given the name of another place to stay, but they were booked and boy am I glad! They actually referred us to Open Gates and we had the best time. I called once we docked the boat and Zach was kind enough to come pick us up so we wouldn't have to walk with our luggage. He had cooked and tea waiting on us. He showed us to our rooms and gave us a quick tour as he was about to leave for the day. My husband and I stayed in the Island Room which was huge! We had more than enough space. Our friends stayed in the Bluebird Room and they too enjoyed it. After seeing our rooms, we got in the pool to relax after having been on the water for the last five hours. We stayed in until a storm ran us out. We decided to walk down to Skipper's after Zach's fiancée Carrie suggested it. We were blown away. We eat seafood quite a bit and this was delicious! The hush puppies were to die for! We got back and decided to call it a night and the next morning, Zach had prepared the prettiest breakfast that I had ever eaten! It was also out of this world. I was amazed by his abilities. We chatted over breakfast with both Zach and Carrie and Carrie told us all about jelly balling which we found to be very interesting. They recommended we try the Sugar Marsh Cottage, directly across from the inn and I'm glad they did. The chocolate was absolutely stunning and delicious. Since we were on a boat, we were scared to purchase any for fear it would melt, but the owner was kind enough to give us ice packs to keep it cool. We walked back to the inn and it was time to check out so Zach offered to drive us back to the dock so we wouldn't have to walk. We were blown away by how nice both Zach and Carrie were and how accommodating they were. We actually want to return next year just to stay there and eat at Skippers again!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


What a terrific find for a really special historic Inn and top class host, Zach! à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le juillet 12, 2015

Definitely a first class B&B for a feel of the low-country hospitality and historic time! Makes you want to stay longer to absorb the great ambience of the place, and roll back in time along the river and history of the area. Owner and chef Zach make your visit the best.........and off the too-busy fast track, but very much in touch!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A pleasant B&B à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

3,6 Dernier avis le mars 13, 2015

The location is excellent and the breakfast is outstanding. We would return and recommend to others. The room lacked seating but was otherwise clean and spacious.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Perfect get-away! à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le mars 04, 2015

1st time visitors-will definitely return & tell our friends! We stayed 3 nights at Open Gates to celebrate our anniversary and we already cannot wait for our next visit. The Garden Room was beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable. Zach was professional & genuine and he gave us wonderful suggestions of things to do in the area. He was very accommodating and is an amazing chef . We were served first class, delicious breakfasts every morning. We understand why his crepes are award winning and my husband and I both agreed he made the best omelets we had ever had. Although we did not take advantage of the fire pit, pool or library, the house and grounds have a lot to offer guests and we made ourselves at home. Darien is a charming, sleepy little shrimping town. We brought our bikes to ride around to see the historic neighborhoods and we took the bike trail to Fort King George just a mile or so away. The B&B is only a couple blocks from the dock, shops and local restaurants. We felt safe walking at night in the area. Open Gates is on Vernon Square with a beautiful fountain and huge oak trees laden with Spanish moss...quintessential southern charm. I could not get over the perfect setting! The fountain was a soothing sound at night when we left the windows open in our room. Also on the quiet square are two historic churches, beautiful old homes and a must visit chocolate shop, "Sugar Marsh Cottage". Their homemade chocolates awaited us in our rooms upon arrival. Darien is a perfect central location to take day trips to the Golden Isles, Savannah, Sapelo Island and Harris Neck. There's so much to do in the region that we were not able to do it all in 4 days. We really feel like we discovered a hidden gem in Darien and Open Gates. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


My Darien visit à Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4,6 Dernier avis le février 16, 2015

Joanne is a wonderful host. We met such sweet people at breakfast every morning. We enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay at Waterfront again.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great location, awesome food, great host. à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le février 03, 2015

Darien GA, is a quiet little town, the Open Gates B & B was easy to find, near the river and walking distance from restaurants and shops. The room was very clean, well organized, the owner Zach was very welcoming, he gave us a tour of the house offered refreshments and not long he had fresh cookies coming out of the oven, delicious! The next day breakfast was served, in one word ..divine! Fresh Fruit, home made apple turnovers, omelette. Fresh brewed coffe. We will go back for Zach famous crepes, that is for sure. Almost forgot to mention Skiper's seafood restaurant food was awesome, we definitely recommend anyone staying at Open Gates Bed and Breakfast and Skiper's Restaurant. Lili Stokes

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A Magical Experience! à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le février 03, 2015

I have always enjoyed traveling and have stayed at numerous Bed & Breakfast Inns over the years. Clearly, there are many differences with each whether it be the physical condition, environment, ambiance, dining, special accommodations, service and of course the Innkeepers themselves. Through my travels I have been exposed to all sides of what makes Bed & Breakfasts unique.....some good and some not so good. With all of that being said, Our recent stay at Open Gates was delightful in everyway. We were welcomed like family by Zach and Carrie when we first walked in the door. The house was beautifully restored and immaculate. Our room was one of the nicest that I have ever been in....large, beautifully decorated and so comfortable. As for the food.....wonderful.....from the hot cookies that Zach made in the late afternoon to the full breakfast in the morning that was made to order! What made this even more special is that this was my wife's first time ever staying at a B & B! It could not have been any better! A truly magical experience!!! Craig

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Fantastic stay in the Golden Isles à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le février 03, 2015

Zach and Carrie were the most caring and attentive host. We stayed in Darien during our 4 day visit of the Golden Isles. It was a great location to do day trips to St Simons, Jeykell, and Savannah. This was a beautiful historic home right in the heart of a small town. The oak trees in the square were a wonderful site from the front porch. The food was 5 star all the way from Zach. This was the best B& B we have stayed in. The location and atmosphere of the home was so warm and inviting and the owners are just truly an amazing young couple.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Recent visit à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

5 Dernier avis le février 03, 2015

I stayed in the Blue Room in Early Jan. And it was a delightful visit. The room was cheery, clean and quiet and the breakfast was first class. The host was most accommodating and nice.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Gourmet breakfast by a talented Chef ,a great house & room à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

4,6 Dernier avis le février 03, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed our 32 wedding anniversary (near Christmas) at Open Gates. Everything was decorated & the service was great. What struck me, was the gourmet breakfast in the morning. Seems other B&B just bring out some muffins. The location was great. On a historic picturesque square in Darien,GA. Besides Darien's own sites & charm, it is in the center of the Golden Isles. Short ride to other sites.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


What a great find. à Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, GA)

4,4 Dernier avis le janvier 29, 2015

We were traveling from Florida back to South Carolina and decided to stay here for the night. What a great choice we made. The innkeepers, Carrie and Zach, were exceptional hosts. As we were the only guest that night they invited us to eat dinner with them, some of their family that was visiting and some neighbors. The food was excellent. The breakfast the next morning was also outstanding. It is a neat old home on a square in the heart of Darien and the accommodations were very comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


cool place à Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4,8 Dernier avis le mars 14, 2013

We stayed with Joann twice withib a month and we loved the Inn and the innkeeper. Spacious rooms, quiet, clean, modern,and located , literally, within a stones throw of a watering hole and seafood restaurant. Lovely deck, but too cold to use in February. Among the best, and we have stayed at more than 50 B&Bs over the years.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


What's not to love à Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

5 Dernier avis le mars 07, 2013

This was pure magic. Well appointed rooms opened to a balcony that overlooked the water and Darien's magic. The rooms are clean and upscale and you have a bed and breakfast feel with the added plus of your own beautiful space. The owner Joann makes you feel welcomed and as familiar as you care to be. Amazing pancakes may await you in the morning with the best coffee around!!!! After a great meal at Skippers we walked 'home" and slept in the best bed offered outside of our own. We did not want to leave. This is a great stop off point on the way to Florida from the north and not out of your way. Do it !!!!!!! I have traveled the world, live in Cape May, NJ and this is one of those spots you do not want to miss. Tell Joann Susan says Hello!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Relaxation Getaway Plus! à Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

5 Dernier avis le janvier 09, 2013

We drove up from Tampa Bay, specifically for a 2 night relaxation getaway - about a 5 1/2 hr. drive, but well worth the trip. The room was lovely and plenty spacious, bed was extremely comfy, back porch inviting (including a fun happy hour with neighbors from adjoining rooms on New Year's Eve). Loved the location for walking across the parking lot to Skipper's for oysters and football during the day, and the wine shop/wine bar & other restaurants in the evenings. We explored the river in kayaks for a couple of hours during the morning (peaceful once we passed I-95) and witnessed nature in abundance, including a bald eagle sighting! JoAnn's breakfasts were delicious, and she was a pleasant and gracious hostess. Definitely worth the trip for a couple of days of peace & quiet, even great for an overnight stay while traveling up & down I-95. Not your usual high rise hotel - lots of ambiance and character.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great Getaway à Darien Waterfront Inn (Darien, Georgia)

4,8 Dernier avis le novembre 20, 2012

We spent two relaxing nights at the Darien Waterfront Inn. Although Darien itself is not the quaint, historic town we had anticipated, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Darien does offer the colonial King George Fort for exploration, and delicious local shrimp for feasting. Kayaking through the marshes is available as are other boating excursions to local areas. Savannah is just an hour away and we spent a day wandering there. JoAnn, owner of the inn, couldn't have been more accommodating or welcoming. Her breakfasts were delicious and served in a casual, family atmosphere. Our room was cute, clean, and featured a microwave and mini-fridge. The bed had lovely linens and was very comfortable. The porch overlooking the river and marshes was perfect for reading with a glass of wine. No hustle, bustle, or distracting stimulation. When I left my jacket and favorite pillow behind, JoAnn mailed them back to me. She went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasure. If you are looking for a relaxing, casual, and unpretentious place to unwind, the Darien Waterfront Inn is a great option.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Les B&B les mieux notés

  1. Darien Waterfront Inn (4,72)
  2. Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (4,68)
Haut
check }